DEV Community

Kirill Shirinkin
Kirill Shirinkin

Posted on

Would you hire a mentor?

dev.to, help me out with opinions :) If there would be a service to hire a programming mentor on weekly basis (payments per week/month), and this mentor would help you define your career goals (learn new tech, learn programming from scratch, develop pet project), tell you how to get there, answer all your questions, review all your code etc. etc. - would you pay for that? What would you expect from such a mentor?

Note: not to be confused with short voice consultations.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

I would not. There are enough Slack or Facebook groups that I see no need to seek out paid mentorship. If I have a question for someone more experienced than me, I'd open Slack and post in a #careers channel or something. No need for formalities.