DEV Community

Franco Scarpa
Franco Scarpa

Posted on

Which is your favourite browser?

With so many different browsers out there, it's hard to choose. Which is your favourite browser, but most importantly, why? What about the browser you use on your smartphone?

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
khrome83 profile image
Zane Milakovic

I hate the fact I have to develop in Chrome. Recently I switched to Edge for OSX which is based on Chromium for the development tools. But the reality is, you can’t develop that wellin Safari, or Firefox.

It’s shame we don’t have more completion and innovation in this space. When was the last time you use Opera for example...

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I like Firefox at the moment. I switched back to it from Chrome a while ago, though I still use Chrome and Edge at work and I use Chromium at work to send stuff to my TV - Firefox doesn't do Chromecast :)

It's not perfect, but it's a better compromise than the other options IMO.

Collapse
 
peter279k profile image
peter279k

I use the Google Chrome browser on my smart phone.

And I use the Google Chrome and Firefox on my laptop and computer.

I use them because they've the most of people use and many browser plugins are available, and rich ecosystem on these web browsers.

Collapse
 
fcfn profile image
Peter Timoshevsky • Edited

👨‍💻 Chrome for developing because it's the standard.
🦊 Firefox because I used it since before Chrome appeared.
🎶 Vivaldi for social media.
📱 Chrome on Android because it offers the best mobile experience so far.
🍎 Safari on iOS because it's pretty good and is tailored for the device.

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

In what sense is Chrome the standard?

Collapse
 
fcfn profile image
Peter Timoshevsky

I think it's usually assumed that every developer uses Chrome Dev Tools over Firefox ones or others. Maybe I'm mistaken.

Anyway, I tried Firefox for Developers but couldn't switch to their developer tools because I'm so used to Chrome. They say it has cool CSS grid support though.

Collapse
 
francoscarpa profile image
Franco Scarpa

I reconsidered Chrome negatively because of Google's monopoly and “awkward” use of users' data. Every time I use it, my first thought is: “What is Google going to do with my data?”. For this reason, I started preferring Firefox, but there are bad opinions on Mozilla's browser, too. However, I like Firefox's developer tools and I use them with Google's ones.

Collapse
 
jakob2o profile image
Jakob Schmitt

I use Chrome because of the PWA features it provides. Additionally I use Mozilla Firefox for Developer to work with CSS Grids

Collapse
 
bryanaim profile image
Brian Isale

Chrome for desktop as it provides more developee tools, but on my smartphone I like to use 'Via' as it's lightweight and kinda fast in my opinion, plus simple UI

Collapse
 
nataliedeweerd profile image
𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚𝐥𝐢𝐞 𝐝𝐞 𝐖𝐞𝐞𝐫𝐝

Chrome for desktop & mobile. I have an Android phone so Chrome comes standard. As for desktop, I've always used Chrome so I find it the easiest to use.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.