DEV Community

Cover image for Step By Step
Frederick Peñalo
Frederick Peñalo

Posted on

Step By Step

In the last month, I started a new way to do the things in my life. Step by step, not more, not less, just focus on the next step.

And yes, I know that this is confusing, but I'm going to explain, I remember that I was walking to my father's job but the way is long, maybe five or ten minutes walking. In the Dominican Republic with our climate that is a lot of time, but I just have to do the next step and step by step I complete my goal, meet with my father in his job.

So why can't I use the same idea, in software development?

As software engineer we must do a lot of things, the more simple feature can take some hours of our time. So thinking in the complete feature can be scary, maybe feel tired.

So I imagined Julio and Cian when they told me "Frederick this week you have to complete the ticket about import a Thread from Twitter" I said, yes of course. As Dominican, I said "Claro , anja yo resuelvo" but I had no idea how can I complete this how I can complete this ****.

So At this moment I used the technique Step by Step, I take the Jira History and started to describe the step in my internal to do list.
Step 1: Study the developer documentation of twitter
Step 2: Register in the developer site of twitter
Step 3: ....

So my focus don't was complete the history import the thread, no, my focus was to complete the Step 1, when finish the Step 1, continue step 2, after step 3, etc.

When I finish my internal to-do list, I was more productive because complete my work also Julio and Cian does happy because I complete my history. Thank you to the technique step by step, my moral is up.

I'm trying to use this technique in all the thing in my life, when I'm cooking, when I'm reading my focus is read the current page, not all the pages. When I'm programming, my focus is in the current task and step to step I complete the history.

_Thanks for reading my post.
_

Top comments (0)