DEV Community

Fulton Browne
Fulton Browne

Posted on

What is your favorite Linux distro

Mine is Ubuntu, I love its ease to set up and use, I also love how well snap and apt work, the ux, and the win key to activity's feature.
What about you whats your opinion?

Top comments (24)

Collapse
 
alessandrojcm profile image
Alessandro Cuppari • Edited

I've tried Debian and Ubuntu but I settled with Arch.

Once you pass the installation process (which frankly is not that spooky if you follow the steps outlined in the wiki); you'll end up with a system that has only what you actually need. Also it's rolling release system means that I'll always have my packages up to date; the only fear that I had is that, since is not a Debian based distro, was a lack of packages. But so far there has not been a package that wasn't either in the official repos or in AUR (a sort of repo maintained by the community).

Also it has given me way less issues than Ubuntu or Debian, specially (and incredibly) with my GPU drivers.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

This is what scares me about arch

note: I bricked the same Ubuntu machine 3 times 2 years ago, that's why I am scared

Collapse
 
alessandrojcm profile image
Alessandro Cuppari

Really? Thats weird, I just followed the getting started on the wiki and did not have any issues. The only thing that cost me was getting the DHCP working in order to connect to the internet, that and setting up GRUB; boy that was a nightmare.

Thread Thread
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

This weekend I'll try installing it on this old powerpc machine I have, and see what happens...

Thread Thread
 
yannik_sc profile image
Yannik_Sc

The easier was for installing Arch would be to use Manjaro. Its basically Arch with a typical, graphical installer.

So if its not working the classic way ..

Collapse
 
gregruminski profile image
Greg Ruminski

@FultonB:

I believe Arch is officially supported for x86-64 arch only.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

It doesn't have to be scary. Manjaro has a nice installer, Manjaro-Architect, that will guide you through the whole process. This way you can't forget any important step.

Thread Thread
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Thanks, heiker

Collapse
 
lbonanomi profile image
lbonanomi

I'll repeat this until I turn blue in the face: I re-tool my personal infrastructure to keep the same distro as my employer and at the same version. I find it helps me at work and at play to not have to shift between vendor idioms, it forced me to stare systemd in the face, and allows me to carry little nuggets of insight to work after I spend a quiet Sunday afternoon jamming on something at home.

Collapse
 
gvetri profile image
Giuseppe Vetri

I started using Xubuntu, which is an excellent distribution when you don't have a laptop with a lot of resources. I migrated to Manjaro when I got a more powerful PC. I love the rolling release and the fact there's almost everything on the package manager.

Collapse
 
lucasrafaldini profile image
Lucas Rafaldini • Edited

I was first an Ubuntu lover, then I've worked with Mint and it seems easier and lighter. I mainly use both of they, but I'm searching for an alternative distro to power up my next laptop.

Oh, by the way, I also use an Gallium OS at my Chromebook (I think most of it is Ubuntu with Xfce interface).

Collapse
 
hwolfe71 profile image
Herb Wolfe

My favorite is Slackware. However, when I decided to set it up on my laptop, I had issues installing it to dual boot with UEFI. I ended up installing PCLinuxOS, which I have come to like as well.

I will probably go back to Slackware on my next laptop, as I don't plan to dual boot in the future.

Collapse
 
nikola0203 profile image
Nikola Milosevic

I've tried many distros like Mint, Xubuntu, Kubuntu, Pop_OS!, Elementary but Ubuntu is best for me.

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

For personal systems, I preferentially use Gentoo because I'm really picky about what I have installed and how the system is configured, and Gentoo gives you a lot of control over what actually gets installed and makes almost zero assumptions about how the system is configured. I've toyed with Arch/Manjaro before, but really don't like pacman for a number of reasons.

Depending on the exact use case though, I'll also use Debian (often but not always Sid, which I've actually never had any issues with), Alpine (when I need a tightly secured minimalist system) or on rare occasion a custom environment produced using Buildroot when I need a highly specific system and don't mind rebuilding the world to run updates.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Your a linux genius :]

Collapse
 
alejandro_sierra profile image
Alejandro Sierra

Love using Elementary Os. good ux, love having multiple windows panes with various apps. Although some say its a rip off of mac os, its what im familiar with so im enjoying it so far!

Collapse
 
visualmov profile image
Ryan

I've been using Linux Mint for as long as I can remember. Since it's basically the same as Ubuntu, there's nothing more I can really say.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

I think I'll try Linux Mint on my next PC build, thanks Ryan.

Collapse
 
jcadima profile image
Juan J Cadima

Zorin OS, it is Ubuntu based but i like its polished UI, also it works well with my lenovo laptop

Collapse
 
ceyhunkerti profile image
Ceyhun Kerti • Edited

Before Gnome Shell: Ubuntu
After Gnome Shell: Ubuntu Mate

Collapse
 
codebrotha profile image
Tineyi Takawira

Elementary OS is my favorite.

Collapse
 
vancanhuit profile image
Đinh Văn Cảnh

I tried Ubuntu and now using Fedora. Recently I hear Pop!_OS from System76 so maybe I will give it a try.

Collapse
 
gbafana25 profile image
Gareth M.

I’m currently using Arch for now. I used to use Ubuntu for a while, but I just decided I wanted to try something new. So far I haven’t had any issues finding packages, and I love the i3wm

Collapse
 
dongphuchaitrieu profile image
Đồng Phục Hải Triều

Ubuntu for sure