DEV Community

Cover image for PROMEΘEUS - Pyro Detection Global Team
George Delaportas (ViR4X)
George Delaportas (ViR4X)

Posted on • Updated on

PROMEΘEUS - Pyro Detection Global Team

Due to recent wild fire outbursts, I believe it's about time we all (engineers/developers) join forces to create a global team for detecting smoke/fire as early as possible.

I already have an ecosystems (platform & framework) which comprises of my own tools, services and 3rd party utilities and solutions.

I am thinking of turning this whole infrastructure into an open-source solution. My hope is that we will all participate and create a mega-project where all good code, processes and practices will be incorporated inside a common environment.

In fact, this is the main goal of the ecosystem that I have now. I developed a Common Operations Platform (COP) for fire prevention, security and beyond.

But, being an open-source engineer at heart and a believer in the community power, I want to take it to the next level!

I have even found a cool name: PROMEΘEUS.
Since PROMETHEUS was the ancient Greek god & titan that gave people the knowledge and power of fire (and since I am Greek), I thought it would be cool :-)

The core platform is already open-source. It is the Meta-OS, GreyOS (See more at https://github.com/g0d/GreyOS).

The requirements are mainly just: JS, PHP, Python and HTML5. But in the back-end various technologies and programming languages can be combined such as Java, Kotlin, C/C++, Rust, etc.

I welcome you to invest some of your time and check a few videos and media links showcasing what the current system does and how it also integrates devices like drones, cameras, IoT and satellite systems to achieve its goal.

References:

What do you all think about the initiative?

Best,
George Delaportas

Top comments (0)