DEV Community

Gabi
Gabi

Posted on • Updated on

Can you help me with some feedback on my CV, please?

Hello, I am in the great and interesting time of looking for a job, ideally, it was remotely until these past weeks, but at this point, I am looking locally as well. The options are not that many.

Do you think you can check it out and give me some feedback, please? Any comments are welcomed.

I have used LinkedIn for the past years, but recently I have had questions about my CV, so I need to update it and have it ready.

Thank you very much for your time and comments.

Signed,
Just another freaked out developer.

P.S I messed up, I shared the old version, this is the new version:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1qxmSKhQbGV3i8ZRD3pYRTec8mCzdIHJ6/edit

Update: After a lot of useful feedback I have updated my CV and you can check it out here: http://www.gabrielaradu.me/static/media/GabrielaRaduCV.d6c204a8.pdf

There is always room for improvement, so if you spot something that is not right or something is missing, please leave a comment below.

Thank you again to everyone that helped me out, and I hope i can return the favour and give feedback on other people's CV. Add below the link to your CV!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
ogzhanolguncu profile image
Oğuzhan Olguncu

The trick is HR and Managers would like to see the value you're bringing to their company. So, if I were you, I would add something like this "increased their sale 5%, help team organize better, etc.".
Everything else looks great. Wish you good look.

Collapse
 
gabriela profile image
Gabi

Thanks. I know this idea, of what is the impact, unfortunately some companies don't even provide more information even beyond "I need this method". Staying away from places like this now.

Collapse
 
recursivefaults profile image
Ryan Latta

Gabriela,

I'd be happy to help you with your resume. I took a look at the one you've built. How would you like me to provide feedback?

Collapse
 
recursivefaults profile image
Ryan Latta

Some high level stuff:

  • I think your overall format can be adjusted to highlight your strengths. I'd emphasize your skills and experience primarily. So drop the personal statement. I can show you examples of what I'm talking about.
  • Create a section for skills and move the skills from your experience there. Tailor that list to the job you're applying to
  • For work experience you want to emphasize the value, outcome, or impact you had, not the task you performed.
  • References - "Available upon request"

I'm happy to go into a lot more specifics. I also wrote a book on getting sw a job that covers this. I can send the chapter on resumes to you as well.

Collapse
 
gabriela profile image
Gabi • Edited

Hi, thanks so much for this. It helps a lot. I actually had to update the link to the CV because i shared the older version. Sorry. Regarding the volume, impact, I am sorry to say but most of my work life data about this was not shared in any way with the team. But i understand what you are saying and will think of a different way to say it.

Thread Thread
 
recursivefaults profile image
Ryan Latta

It is usually tricky to start with those things. You can sometimes find things like:

  • Intended user base
  • Technical load
  • Improved quality (Defects)
  • Core business problem you solved (You have some of this already)
  • Cost reduction (Optimizing scale/load, cloud?)
Thread Thread
 
gabriela profile image
Gabi

Awesome points. I didn't think of that so far. Thank you!

Collapse
 
david_ojeda profile image
David Ojeda

Hello Gabriela 👋🏼

Are you still looking for feedback? I get a message saying that the file is already in your Drive's trash 🤪

Collapse
 
gabriela profile image
Gabi

Hey, thank you so much for wanting to help. I got a lot of feedback and changed a lot and closed the share very late yesterday. If you still want to take a look, you can find it here: gabrielaradu.me/static/media/Gabri...

I will update the post as well.