DEV Community

Cover image for My experience learning code for the first time
gechiclazz
gechiclazz

Posted on

My experience learning code for the first time

I got into web development because I wanted to write technical articles in the information technology sphere. When I investigated the various facets of technology, I discovered that my natural abilities were best suited for technical writing, but if I didn't learn to code, what kind of technical writer would I be? This, together with my enthusiasm for data science, motivates me to learn how to code.

In retrospect, one might say I found writing code intellectually intriguing and sapping as well. Before I experienced code I expected to be met with a lot of statistical stuff and math, which I must say is not my strongest suit. Encountering Hyper Text Markup Language(HTML), I found myself dealing with symbols to specify tags; now this is on the intriguing side. On the sapping aspect, the more I wrote code, the lesser I could comprehend the last code forcing me back and forth between the texts.

Another highlight of this magnificent experience was the Integrated Development Environment (IDE) I was using. As a novice coder, I found the auto-completion of tags and suggestions in between lines of code to be really helpful in the Visual Studio Code editor (VS CODE).

There are always two sides to every coin and in as much as I have found coding to be broad, I can say with full confidence that it is a project worth being embarked upon.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ihechineme profile image
Ihechineme

Great article 👏🏾

Collapse
 
mannu profile image
Mannu

Welcome to the DEV community 👋
Hope you enjoy it here. Feel free to contact us for any kind of help.

Best of Luck for Your Journey