DEV Community

Cover image for What I learnt from HacktoberFest 2020πŸŽ‰
Georgey
Georgey

Posted on

What I learnt from HacktoberFest 2020πŸŽ‰

2020 went so fast, never knew it was October already. But truthfully saying I just used up my holidays doing a 3 month developer course and yeah; It was really fun being a Web Developer!

HacktoberFest 2020 was the first tech event I participated and I was really confused what it was all about and almost gave up. But then I made up my mind to see the different issues labeled by hacktoberfest. One of my core strengths as a developer was solving out responsiveness issues. So I started searching out for issues similar, found a few and then at first, I was really hesitant to make a Pull request.

Thought a few seconds, wondered "My code is working fine, why am I scared then?". Soon after the author replied back saying that I had done a good job and merged it- That realization, that someone from the other part of the world literally appreaciating your work, Its beautiful!😊

Soon enough I had made 4 pull requests, and I had not only build up my confidence but learnt so many new terms and stuff, It was worth it!

For Newbies out there I just wanna say "Don't Give up!πŸ’ͺ"

Don't forget to give a Reaction❀
Follow me on Twitter, Instagram

Top comments (0)