DEV Community

Cover image for Starting my Side Projects Journey After 7 Years in Software Engineering
Gerald Ballesteros
Gerald Ballesteros

Posted on • Updated on

Starting my Side Projects Journey After 7 Years in Software Engineering

Never too late, right?

In my 7 years of professional experience, I've already worked on several projects in various fields. E-commerce, restaurant POS, and SMS services, to name a few. Despite that, I've barely made a few projects in my own time.

"Arduinosaur" is one of the very few (dumb, but fun) small projects I have created:

I enjoyed doing that. However, it's very rare for me to work on such things. So now, my plan is to consistently do more.

First project in this series

What better way to kick off this journey than by creating a web page that can generate random software ideas.

So here's Appdea.

Appdea: App Idea Generator (First project in this series)

It's a simple React TypeScript application that uses this Public API. It's not an original concept by any means, and most of the credit should go to @erickerr and @gilbert from ItsThisForThat. My work merely displays the data they provide. But for this journey, I'd say it's a good, fun start.

More to come...?

Most of what I'll do here will be tiny projects. And with what I'm aiming for in this series, it's not about how big the action is, but rather how consistent.

My next projects would probably be React apps made with Vite or Next.js 13. I aim to further expand my knowledge and skills by dipping my toes into the latest tech, or ones that are quite new to me.

Anyway, only time will tell if I'll actually follow through with this. So wish me luck. Better yet, join me and start a similar journey of your own.


👋 Hey. Thanks for reading my first ever blog post. If you liked it, follow me here. And feel free to connect on LinkedIn.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jreybaylen profile image
John Rey Baylen

Awesome! Keep it up Gerald!

Collapse
 
geraldb profile image
Gerald Ballesteros

Thanks, John Rey!