DEV Community

Ghost
Ghost

Posted on

State and Variable in React Hooks

I am pretty new to react-hooks and I have yet to discover its real super powers. I want to ask if I am breaking anything if I do the sample code below.


let somevariable= [];

const SomeComponent = () => {
  const [state, setState] = useState({});

  useEffect(()=>{
   fetch('http://insert-api/state')
      .then(response => response.json())
      .then(data => setState({ data }));
  },[])


  useEffect(()=>{
   //update `somevariable` whenever the state changes
   somevariable = state.something
  },[state])


 const clickMe = () => {
   console.log(somevariable)
   //do something to somevariable
 }

  return (
    <button onClick={clickMe}>Click Me </button>
  )
}

Instead of putting somevariablein the state I put it outside to make it kind of global. I did this because when I put somevariable in its own state and set its value in the useEffect it results to endless loop but this one does not, so this is like my workaround. A lot of my functions rely on somevariable that's why it's important for me to know if this approach is alright or not.

PS. I don't know if it's alright to ask this here so please tell me if it's not and I will take it down. Thanks.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim • Edited

When you put the somevariable outside of React's control, changing the value of somevariable would not trigger components depending on that value to re-render.

e.g.)

You can fork and try it yourself

Edit Doesn't re-render with global variable

let somevariable;

const Child = ({ somevariable }) => {
  useEffect(() => {
    console.log(`Child rendering with somevariable=>`, somevariable);
  });

  return <h1>{somevariable}</h1>;
};

async function fetchData() {
  return "some data";
}

const SomeComponent = () => {
  const [state, setState] = useState({});

  useEffect(() => {
    fetchData().then(data => setState({ data }));
  }, []);

  useEffect(() => {
    //update `somevariable` whenever the state changes
    somevariable = state.data;
  }, [state]);

  const clickMe = () => {
    console.log(somevariable, state);
    //do something to somevariable
  };

  return (
    <>
      <button onClick={clickMe}>Click Me </button>
      <Child somevariable={somevariable} />
    </>
  );
};

You can see that Child that depends on the change of somevariable does NOT render, as somevariable is not a state tracked by React.

The demo below doesn't render the Child component (with <h1>{somevariable}</h1> element)

does not rerender

Can you post a runnable code (possibly forking the sandbox) that causes the infinite loop?