DEV Community

Mamdouh Hussain
Mamdouh Hussain

Posted on

struggling with my productivity

my productivity is going up and down depending on the day and I'm struggling with my daily routine since I'm studying to become a Front-end dev and for my college since my academic field is law.
so what is the best way to make a daily or weekly routine or if u have any advice so I can increase my productivity

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
buzzpy profile image
Buzzpy 💡

Everyone feels ups and downs in their productivity, from a beginner to an experienced developer, and I feel it is normal!

Personally, I often feel not-so-productive if I work on the same thing (for example, my new Python project) for too much time or days in a row. When it comes, I start writing a new article, writing or updating my newsletter content, reading and giving feedback for other's writing, playing with Unity Game Engine, or just taking a break from everything.

Everyone has something that makes them feel happy or satisfied, and I'm kinda lucky to have a lot in the bag! I feel like you'll also love writing @DEV because the community is super friendly, engaging, and helping others!

Given that your academic field is law, which is kind of different from front-end development, I can feel you. But don't worry, just carry on, and the hard time will be over sooner than you can feel it! Maybe this article can help~

Hope this helps and if you want to have a chat, I'm here for you 🙌

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I personally try to focus most on how I start my day — and sometimes it leads to a productive rhythm I carry on, and sometimes it doesn't. But at least my target is a bit more narrow than just "focus throughout the day". I can more predictably plan how I start things.

Collapse
 
ranjancse profile image
Ranjan Dailata

Start learning and practicing one thing at a time. Write as many blogs and your experience here on dev.to. The best lesson and encouragement will be obtained automatically as you take actions.

Collapse
 
megaproaktiv profile image
Gernot Glawe

That is totally normal. Distribute your task according to your personal rythm. Make a break each 1..1 1/2 hours.
The myth of „total 100% productivity“ all the time destroys your health.