DEV Community

Cover image for From Chef To Software Developer
Gareth Miller
Gareth Miller

Posted on

From Chef To Software Developer

This is my story of how I went from being a chef working 65+ hours a week to 3 years later being a software developer.

I don’t have a degree, I don’t even think I’ve ever got an A in any subject in school, I didn’t have any contacts in the industry. I’m just an average person that was fitting in learning around my very demanding job, whilst still climbing the ladder in hospitality (I had two promotions during this time) and without spending £10k on a Bootcamp.

And in this article, I will tell the story of how I did this, and detail what I would do differently if I were to do it again!
Continue here

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
nardove profile image
Ricardo Sanchez

Thank you for sharing Gareth, as I am in kind of similar situation, your post has been of great help.

Collapse
 
gmiller290488 profile image
Gareth Miller

Bless. I'm glad you found it useful!