DEV Community

Cover image for Ask your burning accessibility questions today!
GrahamTheDev
GrahamTheDev

Posted on

Ask your burning accessibility questions today!

I invited myself (yes I am that person!) to speak at a Twitter space tomorrow.

The space will be about Accessibility, in particular:-

  1. How to pitch accessibility to your team at work.
  2. Money! Investment and return on tools, training and accessibility.
  3. A brief introduction to Screen reader behaviour with HTML tags (as screen reader behaviour is similar to CSS coverage, not always 100%)

Note that the Agenda is not limited to only these 3 items if you have questions about anything else accessibility related just let us know!

Come along and say hi!

Most of the work will be done by:

Neha Sharma (Host)

Neha (who is running the space) is an excellent accessibility advocate, so her advice will be invaluable.

She writes here on DEV so you should check out her stuff:

She also founded JS Lovers - A Meetup/Workshop community by Developers for Developers in and around Delhi,Mumbai and Pune.

You can also find her on Twitter @hellonehha, so go check out her stuff on there too!

Tanisha Sabherwal (Co Host)

Tanisha (who is co-hosting) works at JPMorgan as a front-end engineer. You can find some stuff Tanisha has written at tanishasabherwal.me and find her on twitter at @tanishaaa03!

It is my first time chatting with Tanisha but from the stuff of hers I have read I look forward to it!

Graham from InHu (me! - the tag-along self inviter!)

Those of you who follow me know I am outspoken and quite blunt about accessibility.

I prefer facts over fluffiness and actionable steps over general "you should do it because it is the right thing to do" advice that doesn't get results.

So you can expect a little bit of that thrown in there!

Wait, you invited yourself?

Yup, Neha and I have "spoken" (written to each other in comments!) on several occasions and I always like what she has to say.

The second I saw her space was on accessibility (my passion) I had to reach out and see if she would like me to join in.

Luckily she said yes, so you get me there too (whether that is a good or a bad thing is a different question! πŸ˜‹)


I Look forward to seeing you there!
[Link to Original Tweet so you can set a reminder](https://twitter.com/hellonehha/status/1456868618973503496)

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

If you have any questions that you want answering in the space then drop a comment here!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Yes, but they may not be made aware of them without managing focus or using aria-live. If you have an example case I can explain better.

Collapse
 
hellonehha profile image
Neha Sharma

A few more topics:

  • Why semantic tags are important?

  • How CSS plays vital role

  • Automated testing

  • Lighthouse score vs accessibility

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

How long is the space going to be again, I could talk about those until Wednesday afternoon 😜