DEV Community

Cover image for Create a Web Component with LitElement
Gabriel Mayta
Gabriel Mayta

Posted on

Create a Web Component with LitElement

Two weeks ago I started to play with Web Components. I think that Web Components is a great approach to build reusable components.

So I want to share with you the repositories where I worked. I also created a scaffolding to generate a custom-element with all you need.

Custom Elements:

After tried the potential of custom elements I created another project with Web Components support. For this purpose I used Lit-element a library developed by Polymer team to support Web Components.

Web Components:

While I writing this post Chrome, Safari and Firefox support Web Components and Microsoft announced they are working to bring Web Components to Edge.

If you need to support IE11 you can integrate webcomponents library that works fine.

What do you think about Web Components?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
bennypowers profile image
Benny Powers 🇮🇱🇨🇦

Very cool!

Collapse
 
grandemayta profile image
Gabriel Mayta

Thanks Benny!