DEV Community

Cover image for Sacrifices for Success: My Journey to Becoming a Software Developer
Grëg Häris
Grëg Häris

Posted on

Sacrifices for Success: My Journey to Becoming a Software Developer

Just had a chat with my neighbor. She's been curious about me since I moved here last July. Apparently, I'm a bit of an enigma!

She's wondering why I'm always indoors, only venturing out when I am heading to the gym or for quick grocery runs. She's also curious about my lack of a social life. No friends, no clubs, then she also found out that I am not active on social media and my phone is always never reachable as it always on DND... it's like I've vanished from the face of the earth! And she even asked about my mental health, wondering if I'm not bored out of my mind.

She said my life is too boring 🤣.

Well, the truth is, I am never bored. I'm on a mission.

I relocated down here because I have a target, a goal, a dream I am trying to accomplish.

I want to change my life, learn to become a full-stack web developer, and then build my life onward from there.

You see, I have big dreams, I want to be among the 1% of the elite.

So, I've decided to focus solely on things that take me closer to my goals. I've sacrificed my social life to concentrate 100% on achieving my dream. So I decided to do away with anything, everyone or activities that distract me and take me away from achieving my dream.

You see, I didn't quit my job, move to a new city for fun; it was a strategic decision to be locked in and commit daily to my goal.

I've set a deadline for myself and have made becoming a software developer the most important thing in my life right now.

So all I do each day is take steps forward and then at the end of each day I evaluate my progress.

What about you? What decisions have you made or sacrifices have you made to achieve your learning goals? Share your story in the comments and let's inspire and motivate each other together!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Yes, Greg, taking steps forward daily and evaluating progress is a sure way to achieve goals! You're right on track! Your story is inspiring - keep up the good work!

One major decision I made towards achieving my learning goals was dropping out of university - you see, till now, most people don't agree with that choice, but I know what I want. It's a matter of time and action; my goal of building a global software empire will become a reality.

It's good to connect with like minds that are dedicated and committed!

Glad to meet you!

Collapse
 
gregharis profile image
Grëg Häris

Knowing where you want to go, then determine the cost and resolving to make any sacrifice needed to achieve that goal is one of the major keys to success.

Your story is a big motivation. We will keep building and growing.

Thanks for sharing. Glad to meet you too man.