DEV Community

Heather Hill-Leider
Heather Hill-Leider

Posted on • Updated on

Study and code, etc.

I know it's been a little bit since my last blog post. I've still been studying but it's been off and on.

After a stormy's night sleep after creating my first app, I was so excited I wanted to do it again! I strayed away from the book again and asked John to help me. We created my first Github repository called learning-vuetify so I can commit my work.
After that, I watched a Vue tutorial video and created a simple little "Hello World" app. I committed both of these tiny little starter projects to my learning-vuetify repository in Github at github.com/heatherleider. It's not much to look at but it's public and available if you're interested.

After that, we were busy with the kids for a few days, then John and I both were injured moving furniture around and cleaning out the garage; so I took a couple days off. πŸ˜₯ We're fine, just clumsy πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ.
So onward and upward! Our core team and contributors are creating a beginners guide which I am SO excited about!! I had the privilege to look over parts of it to make sure it was readable from a beginners standpoint and in the process, learned a lot! I have also been getting some great advice on different resources to use alongside the book to that were helpful to others!

At this point, I have surpassed what John has written in the book so far (he's still writing it), so while I'm waiting for the next chapter to be written, I'm going to study other avenues and try to keep my knowledge fresh.
I have watched a video on how to navigate through VSCode and am now working through a video on Javascript fundamentals. This way, I'll have some foundational knowledge when going back into the book and learning about how Vue and Vuetify work. I have also been reading through the Vue and Vuetify documentation so that I can get a good feel for it. One thing I've noticed is that I'm getting better at reading code and knowing what it means and what it does.

I had wanted to talk about the resources I used outside of the book to learn but honestly, there are SO many resources out there I'm almost getting overwhelmed with all the choices. I've talked to other self-taught devs and they have shared which resources they used to learn. I also found out about code-as-you-go learning which sounded enticing. On one hand, I find it comforting that there are so many options for training videos and self-taught learning resources for new developers. That way, I know if I fail, it's my own fault. But on the other hand, there are so many options its overwhelming and I don't know which one's are vouched for and which ones are most reputable. Especially for beginners very little prior coding knowledge. If you are self taught, have been through this yourself and can relate, please tell me how you overcame it.
How did you learn?
What resources did you use?
Which resources are found most valuable in the industry?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
finistratbob profile image
finistratbob

I recently wrote an exam for young professionals in internal website optimization. I decided to use the international grading system. Each student should be able to independently assess their knowledge and skills. We used this calculator edubirdie.com/gpa-calculator to check errors and successful operations. The program is an honest teacher and judge who will show an accurate result. We helped 10 students find work.

Collapse
 
ethan11lee profile image
Ethan11lee

Thanks for sharing! In this area, β€œto learn something once and for all” is unlikely - new solutions are constantly appearing, new frameworks, in the end, new languages. I am a student who is trying to combine study with work, because I like IT, and only because of this service, I succeed.

Collapse
 
anzelika profile image
Anzelika

Glad to see you getting your hands dirty again! Resources are overwhelming indeed. I don't believe in opening up documentation and reading it like a book. Without context or actually opening up your code editor to replicate and test it out physically, it goes out of the window fast and just clutters the mind. So I guess you can say I also believe in the "learn-as-you-go" approach.

Javascript data algorithms are an exception here though. If there is a section just to memorise, it's how to filter through arrays, find items with particular IDs, get comfortable looping through nested objects. That is my bread and butter right now!

Collapse
 
grneyedgrl01 profile image
Heather Hill-Leider

Thanks so much! I also believe in the "learn as you go" approach and I think it's kind of what I'm doing. I definitely learn better when I'm getting my hands dirty so to speak.