DEV Community

Andres Guerrero
Andres Guerrero

Posted on

What is the correct road for DevOps

Hello,

about a few weeks ago, in my company they've offered me the position as DevOps Jr (Actually i'm a senior dev).

Being honest, i'm a little newbie on that field.

I've started research in order to make a list (pretty like a roadmap) for learn from linux to docker:

There is my list:

Linux (Commands)
Docker, basic commands
Git commands for deployment
Docker compose
Docker Swarm
Bamboo
AWS
Jenkis (Optional)
Python (Optional)

So, what do you think about this list? it is the correct path for start in this world?

Regards,

Andres

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

I would take off Docker Swarm (didn't they kill it?) and definitely add a scripting language. Python is very popular, but personally Ruby is my favorite. I've also been learning Chef on top of Ruby; it has a learning curve but it is totally doable and they have a free interactive tutorial section.

Collapse
 
ugurgungor profile image
Ugur GUNGOR

Terraform and Ansible should be on your list I think. Infrastructure as code and pipeline as code approaches are getting so popular.

Collapse
 
kuldipmori profile image
Mori Kuldip

roadmap.sh/devops

Please read and follow if you can learn at the first level to here, is what I personally advise to all beginners.