DEV Community

hacker4world
hacker4world

Posted on

Should you know everything to land a job as a developer ?

I see a lot of people who are still learning programming think that in order to land a good job as a developer you need to know every technologie and every programming language involved with that type of programming you do.
And the reality is that no it's not necessary to know everything in order to get a job because nobody knows everything there is to know and the best of us starts as a junior developer then start improving over time, but the most importing thing you should have as a developer is the constant will to learn new stuff all the time and that what makes you better everyday so in my opinion that's something you need to have.
Tell me what do you think about this

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
simeg profile image
Simon Egersand 🎈

I thought I knew stuff when I got my first job. But of course, I was wrong. I knew nothing. But I quickly learned that that was OK, because I had a hunger to learn. And I learned quickly.

There are still major gaps in my knowledge but idk because I know I can learn if i have to. Good luck to everyone trying to land their first job!!

Collapse
 
hacker4world profile image
hacker4world

Keep that passion to learn bro, you will become a great developer with it

Collapse
 
deantarisai profile image
Dean Tarisai

I think another important aspect to become a seasoned programmer is to learn how to incorporate computational thinking in your daily routines and try to map real world analogies with algorithmic thinking. I think it all boils down to problem solving and applying logic contextually just as you would deal with real world scenarios.

Collapse
 
hacker4world profile image
hacker4world

Yeah that's a good thing to do!

Collapse
 
jwp profile image
John Peters

Just keep interviewing until the job is secured.

Collapse
 
hacker4world profile image
hacker4world

Yeah that works too

Collapse
 
deantarisai profile image
Dean Tarisai

After all, information has a half life therefore its not really useful to hoard it.