DEV Community

Name cannot be blank
Name cannot be blank

Posted on

I'm an African Developer Avocado, I'm trying to build more developers in my Country, Ask Me Anything!

I started the #laptops4Developers campaign in Nigeria, it's a Non-profit mission to support 20 upcoming developers into programming; people who already have an interest in programming but are unable to follow up due to bad or no laptop, no mentor or other support. This program is aimed at supporting them through the course of 3months, they'll be paired with a mentor of their in their field.

N.B: The 1m written here is 1 million in Nigerian currency, that's less than $3000

Here is also the link to my main Dev article that talks more about this campaign.

The support from developers in the US has been really encouraging, but as it is, I'm currently running all these alone and in need of major foreign support to assist. We have been able to raise about 1750 pounds in a month on our Gofundme and we need more support on this.

The campaign is going forward on twitter with the hashtag #Laptops4Developers, with over 2million impressions since we've started.

We've gotten support from a lot of developers and a lot has volunteered to join the mentor's list.

This is the Gofundme link to the Project: https://www.gofundme.com/z7q9rs-laptops4developers

Please feel free to reach me on Twitter on https://www.twitter.com/hackSultan
or send me a mail through akintundesultan@gmail.com

I'll be answering all questions here also..

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato • Edited

What you are doing for the dev community, aspiring devs in your country and your country itself is nothing short of incredible!! I'm genuinely very impressed.

My question is

What made you start what you are doing in the first place?

Did you get some inspiration from somebody? or Was helping others what you always wanted to do and using your programming ability as a medium to do so?

Collapse
 
hacksultan profile image
Name cannot be blank

Since I moved up my programming career last year, I have been supporting the
developers community the little way I can, from sharing Udemy courses to mentoring. I was able to share more than 200 paid course late last year.When I started, i got massive support from authors and developers outside. I have been on this lane ever since. Trying to push the community forward any little way i can.