DEV Community

Harsh-Singh-Rajput
Harsh-Singh-Rajput

Posted on • Updated on

MongoDB Atlas Hackathon 2022 on DEV

What I built

I have built a URL Shrinker App.

Category Submission:

I have chosen a category below:

Choose Your Own Adventure

This is the category which I think is well suited for me as a beginner.
No restrictions, No limitations, Only imagination😀

App Link

I choose replit as web hosting for my web app as it provides great tool and free hosting to the users.
In future there will be many features adding along with different domain/subdomain which will be more easy to use and remember...🤗

Here is my app link:

Screenshots

Here are the beatifull screenshots of my URL-Shrinker app which uses the awesome cloud service of mongodb atlas:

  • Landing Page

Home page

  • Image with User Input

Img with input

  • Image with Results

Result

Here in Results user gets the shortened url as result of long url.
You can test the link by visiting :

http://url-shrinker.harsh-singh-raj.repl.co/mIKr4ZVi6

Description

This is an URL Shrinking app where users can create short url for their any long URLs and then use these short links wherever they want to use.
Example Use Cases of Short URLs are:-

  • Make it easier to share your content.
  • Make your URLs more appealing.
  • Link Sharing.
  • Character Limits

Link to Source Code

Here is the source code for my web app

GitHub logo Harsh-Singh-Rajput / URL-Shrinker

An awesome free to use URL Shrinker web app

Permissive License

Permissive License used is:-

MIT License

Background

I decided to make this app as I faced some occasions and events where I needed a short Url for my purposes. There are many sites available but they require to make the account on their site in order to use the service which creates resistance, some requires payment method and others have annoying ads, which gives me inspiration to build my own URL shrinker web app where user can easily create short URLs without creating an account, without paying methods and without seeing annoying ads.
This was all possible by the free mongodb atlas cloud storage which enables me in building this app.

How I built it

I utilised MongoDB Atlas for creating a database for short URLs through which I can redirect users to their respective pages with the help of id. I leart many new things along the way.
Thanks to MongoDB Atlas and their hackathon for providing great opportunity for learning and incorporating databases in the project.

Additional Resources/Info

Resources which I used for building this app are:-
GeekForGeeks
StackOverFlow
Mongodb docs
And Last but not Least Google Search Engine😁

Top comments (0)