DEV Community

Ivan Arias
Ivan Arias

Posted on

Changing careers

Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@soymeraki?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Javier Allegue Barros</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/photos/0nOP5iHVaZ8?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a><br>
  Changing careers is exciting and intimidating, and some people think that starting a new job is challenging and impossible for adults and seniors. I was a geologist long ago, but I am changing my major from geology to software development. There are two reasons why I am changing careers: first, my long-term goals have changed, and second, I realized that dealing with software and data is my passion.

First, I decided to change careers because my long-term goals have changed. I was born in Venezuela, where I got my degree as a geologist and started a family. However, Venezuela's political and economic crisis is worsening, so I decided to create a new life abroad. I began to work at Amazon in the United States in 2020, and I have enrolled in the Amazon Career Program, which allows employees to work and study part-time careers. Thanks to the Amazon Career Program, I have gotten my GED and language certificate, and next October, I will get my certification as a Full Stack Developer.

Second, after several years of working with databases and geostatistical modeling software, I realized that my current passion is working with programming languages, software, and websites. As a result, I decided to pursue a software development career.

In brief, I'm changing careers because my long-term goals have changed, and I realized that my passion is working with programming languages, software, and websites. I have studied at Flatiron School for about a month and learned basic HTML, CSS, and JavaScript concepts and methods. I'll try my best.

Ivan

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
kalkwst profile image
Kostas Kalafatis

Hey there, welcome to our community! We're glad you're here. Please feel free to drop by our welcome thread and say hi. We'd love to get to know you and learn more about your interests and what you're currently working on. Don't be shy, we're a friendly bunch and we're always happy to welcome new members. Looking forward to seeing you around!

Changing careers can definitely feel daunting, but I want to assure you that there are a ton of opportunities in our industry. As you embark on this new journey, my advice is to keep calm, keep learning, and stay curious. There's always something new to discover and learn, and with time and practice, you'll get the hang of things.

And when the imposter syndrome hits (as it does for many of us), remember that we're all in a perpetual circle of making mistakes, learning new stuff, and discussing our experiences with others. Nobody was born an expert in anything, and it's okay to not have all the answers. Just keep an open mind, ask questions, and don't be afraid to make mistakes along the way.

Wishing you all the best in your career transition, and please don't hesitate to reach out if you need any support or advice.