DEV Community

Cover image for Advice from a junior developer to a new freshly starting developer
Hotdogerino
Hotdogerino

Posted on

Advice from a junior developer to a new freshly starting developer

Introduction

I have been working as a software developer close to 1 year now, and I have noticed some stuff during my time as a developer that could probably help a developer that is starting out completely fresh in this industry. Here are 5 tips I have for new developers coming to the scene.

Have some projects under your belt

Currently I myself am in progress of making more projects to better represent my skills, but even before I had any job, I still had some CRUD apps to show to an employer. It doesn't really matter what projects it might be - a calculator app, GUI app, what matters is that you are able to show your competencies as a developer with some sort of projects you have made.

Utilize the power of networking

I probably could go even more in depth about utilizing LinkedIn to get a job, but I cannot stress enough how important is making connections. Most of the time, it is not me applying to companies, it is companies messaging me, asking me to come for an interview. That comes when you have tons of connections on LinkedIn or in real life as well. I would recommend going to various meetings for technologies or while in university, making as many acquaintances as possible.

Select your first workplace wisely

While having your first job is great and all, it is much better to apply to your first place, where the team would support you in achieving greatness by teaching you how to write proper code and giving you all of the resources to improve. If it so happens, that you are in a workplace environment where the company doesn't curate your improvement, then I have a good quote for you

If the job doesn't pay well, or you're not learning anything useful, then it is time to leave.

Do some research on the technology stack where you are based in

I once made a web scraper to understand what I would need to learn to land a job fast. It so happened to be react, and that is the technology I am sticking with, which brings me to another tip...

Find your favorite technology, and stick with it

For me, it was react, because I am a fairly creative person and I love creating stuff with code, before that, I had used C#, Python and other languages. But I believe, that once you start programming, you should stick with one technology, learn it well, and then other languages will be much easier, due to them just being so similar to each other most of the time

Top comments (0)