DEV Community

Mahesh Makwana
Mahesh Makwana

Posted on

What's you're best Code Editor?

What's you're best Code Editor?

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
drwrongmo profile image
Jon Wright

I use VS Code. It is very well supported by Microsoft. The customization you can do is pretty incredible, but it also works with without too much tinkering. It has great integration with GitHub for basic push / pull activity. If anything, I would say there are too many options for customization, so it could be easy to waste time going down that rabbit hole.

Since you are just getting started and really only working with HTML and JS, anything free should be good for you, but I honestly wouldn't get too hung up on it. They are interchangeable, so you can try all of them and see what clicks for you.

Collapse
 
ryanguitar profile image
Ryan Els

VSCode does it for me.

Collapse
 
taepal467 profile image
Chantae P.

I've tried quite a few and my favorite is VS Code. So many useful extensions, auto save, and the live server is huge plus.

Collapse
 
milanwake profile image
Moon Presence

Of all the editors, my favorite is VSCode. A lot of settings, extensions, auto-completion, the ability to customize the look with ready-made themes or by creating your own theme and many other things make this editor a great and favorite tool for me.

But besides VSCode, I also like Sublime Text, WebStorm, PhpStorm, Notepad++

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

I love Emacs because it's more than an editor; it's my personal knowledge manager. It helps me think about the totality of interacting with "characters on a screen and files on a machine."

I wrote about it early on when I had adopted Emacs in 2020.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Most programming languages: VS Code
Python: PyCharm
Visual Studio: C#

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇

I'd add IntelliJ for Java and PHP storm for PHP, both from JetBrains.
Of course Android Studio for Android development and the equivalent for iOS.
For the rest I'd say VSCode

Collapse
 
jeoxs profile image
José Aponte

VS code!

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

SublimeText - just as capable as VSCode, less resource hungry, and much faster

Collapse
 
raguay profile image
Richard Guay

Oni2 and neovim with Lunar configuration. I go back and forth. Sometimes still using Emacs with Doomemacs config with evil mode set.

Collapse
 
nikhilroy2 profile image
Nikhil Chandra Roy

Vs code but recently I have seen some of developer liked webstorm

Collapse
 
anthonymarkreynolds profile image
Anthony

Vim or editors with decent vim emulation.

Collapse
 
comica profile image
Comica

Webstorm here 🙋🏻‍♀️

Collapse
 
erfannvb profile image
Erfan

Visual studio, vs code, pycharm, intellij