DEV Community

Cover image for (web-app)Open-Source URL-Shortener built using Python.
Aswin🥂
Aswin🥂

Posted on

(web-app)Open-Source URL-Shortener built using Python.

🧨How it started.

Hey there🤚.

Long story short , I recently joined here and I came over a post by @liyasthomas where he created a URL-SHORTNER which is open-source. As a person learning web development I was fascinated by it. But the thing that I noticed while going through the GitHub repo was that he have clearly mentioned not to put any sensitive links as all the links are publicly visible.

Image description

So I decided to make my own version of it but with some personal touches.

With my previous experiences in Python I already knew to write a script which can shorten a URL using some Python modules. So I sat down to make it into a web-app using Flask. Hence Small-Heart💖 was born.
Image description

🎀Demo

Check out a live demo of it here 👇.
Small-Heart💖

Note -- The site is hosted using Heroku's free version so increased traffic can make the site lag a bit.

✨Features :

  • 🔭 Yes it is Open-Source. You can check it out here on GitHub.
  • 📺 Simple UI(not the best😅).
  • 🤖 No account creation or login required.

⭕Cons :

  • 🤍 Currently in its 1st version(as of 1/23/2022).
  • 🔆 Not a fully responsive web-design.

🖤Behind the scenes

Small-Heart is created using Flask as mentioned already.
A python module named pyshorteners is used to shorten the URL.

Last but not least a bit of JavaScript is used in the web page to make it much more user friendly(at least to an extent).


I clearly want to mention that the inspiration of this project entirely came from @liyasthomas 🎉. I surely recommend everyone to check out his post as well.


With that said I would love💘 to know all of your suggestions and opinions on this. If you are interested in making any changes or improvements to it , feel free to check out the GitHub repo -- Small-Heart. Simply star it if you like the idea, it will encourage me to do a lot more projects. And always Stay Safe and Keep Coding🎊.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
8koi profile image
Hachikoi

No fully responsive? worry not I can help whit that :D

Collapse
 
theonlyaswin profile image
Aswin🥂

Thankyou so much for your kind words!✨

Collapse
 
8koi profile image
Hachikoi

Already fixed it btw, waiting for approval :D

Collapse
 
jothinkumar profile image
Jothin kumar

Looks good... Keep it up!

Collapse
 
theonlyaswin profile image
Aswin🥂

Thankyou!👁

Collapse
 
codingjlu profile image
codingjlu

I entered google.com and the "shortened" link is longer 🤣 gj

Collapse
 
theonlyaswin profile image
Aswin🥂

Lol😂. Actually....let me look into it to see what can I do🙌

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Wow, this is cool. Appreciate your efforts on creating such a utlity. Good luck. Expecting many more projects from you 🙌✨

Collapse
 
theonlyaswin profile image
Aswin🥂

Thankyou so much! Your appreciation means a lot✨.

Collapse
 
kazure profile image
Serdar Torlak

Seems, website is not working anymore...