DEV Community

Cover image for My full stack blog based portfolio site
Ismile Hossain
Ismile Hossain

Posted on • Updated on

My full stack blog based portfolio site

Hello everyone!πŸ‘‹ I have been working on my portfolio site and it is now live. It's a blog based site where I will write about my web technologies. It's a full stack project, this is my first full stack project. Please give some feedback on it. To see my website visit:- https://iamismile.herokuapp.com

Now I'm going to talk a little bit about myself and my website here. I'm new in web development. Eight month passed away that I'm learning web development. I have learned modern technologies: React.js, Node.js, Express, MongoDB, Mongoose. So I've decided to build my own project, a big project, where I can learn more, implement my knowledge and face some real world problems. And I decided to build a blog site for myself where I can share my thoughts and which also helps me to find a good job.

✨ Lets talk about my website Stack, Design, Features and Security.

βœ” Stack:

The website build with modern technologies. It is an API and Server-Side rendered website. To check my website API visit: https://iamismile.herokuapp.com/api/v1/tidbits

πŸ”Ή Client-Side(i.e. frontend):- HTML, CSS, JavaScript.

πŸ”Ή Server-Side(i.e. backend):- Node.js(JavaScript runtime).

πŸ”Ή Database:- MongoDB(NoSQL).

πŸ”Ή Image Management:- Cloudinary.

πŸ”Ή Email Services:- SendGrid(For server-side), EmailJS(For client-side).

πŸ”Ή Deployment & Hoisting:- GitHub, Heroku.

πŸ”Ή Web Performance:- Lighthouse Chrome DevTools.

Website Performance

βœ” Design:

The website is designed with mobile first design. I try to keep all the pages simple and nice looking.

Alt Text
Alt Text
Alt Text

βœ” Features:

  • RESTful API design with advance features: filtering, sorting, pagination.
  • Used MVC architecture.
  • Complete modern authentication: login, password reset.
  • Uploading files and Image processing.
  • Send email with SendGrid and EmailJS.
  • Advance error handling.
  • Used Markdown to write blogs.
  • Code Style Practices: Used ESLint.
  • Testing: For testing I used Postman(manual testing).

βœ” Security:

Security is an important thing for a website. So some security best practices for my website are given below:

  • Compromised database: Strong encrypt password & password reset token.
  • Brute Force Attacks: Implement rate limiting.
  • Cross-Site Scripting (XSS) Attacks: Sanitize input data.
  • Denial of Service (DOS) Attacks: Implement rate limiting.
  • NoSQL query injection.
  • Use HTTPS.
  • Random password reset token with expiry dates.
  • Deny access to a authenticated web pages after password reset.

Thanks for reading and stay tuned. Don't forget to give feedback.πŸ™‚

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
mzaini30 profile image
Zen

Wow. It's very fast and nice looking

What about my blog? mzaini30.com. Hahahahhaha

Collapse
 
iamismile profile image
Ismile Hossain

ThanksπŸ™‚. Your website is simple and nice.

Collapse
 
mzaini30 profile image
Zen

Thanks

Thread Thread
 
iamismile profile image
Ismile Hossain

WelcomeπŸ™‚

Collapse
 
nitinreddy3 profile image
Nitin Reddy • Edited

Nice work buddy!

Collapse
 
iamismile profile image
Ismile Hossain

ThanksπŸ™‚

Collapse
 
ngarbezza profile image
Nahuel Garbezza

Nice portfolio! πŸ‘πŸΌ

Collapse
 
iamismile profile image
Ismile Hossain

ThanksπŸ™‚

Collapse
 
abderrahimboum9 profile image
ABDERRAHIM BOUMAHDI

Do you translate md to HTML for your blog ?

Collapse
 
iamismile profile image
Ismile Hossain

Yes. I used markdown it parser for that.