DEV Community

Cover image for From Pumping Iron to Punching Keys: My Hilarious Journey as a Junior Web Developer and New Dad
Marco Neumann
Marco Neumann

Posted on

From Pumping Iron to Punching Keys: My Hilarious Journey as a Junior Web Developer and New Dad

Hello, my name is Marco and I'm a Junior Web Developer. But let me tell you a little bit about my journey to get here.

It all started back when I was a fitness trainer. I had to give that up due to some health issues, but little did I know it was the best thing that could have happened to me. I stumbled upon the world of web development and I was hooked. I completed my training and in 2019, I decided to specialize in web development. I learned all about HTML, CSS, JavaScript and React.

Fast forward to 2020, I successfully completed my specialization and was excited to start my career as a Junior Developer. But then, the world was hit with a little thing called COVID-19 and finding a job as a Junior Developer was next to impossible. But after a year of searching, I finally landed my dream job and I've been here for a year now.

In my first year, I learned what it really means to be a web developer. I was part of a team and we analyzed the current trends in the framework market and found that Vue.js is one of the rising stars, and it turns out I'm pretty good at it, so I decided to learn Vue.js too.

Now, in 2023, I can confidently say that I have experience in HTML, CSS/SCSS, JavaScript, React, and Vue.js. I'm currently working on a project using stencil.js and I'm excited to add this to my list of frameworks that I have experience in.

Oh, and by the way, during my specialization, I also became a dad to a beautiful daughter and I'm already 36 years old. It's never too late to start something new if you really want it.

As a side note, I am also working as IT Consultant.

So, there you have it, my journey from fitness trainer to Junior Web Developer and IT Consultant. Who knows what the future holds, but I'm excited to see what's next. I hope you enjoy my blog posts, because let's be real, it's not every day you get to read about the adventures of a dad-developer.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra πŸ’«

It's never too late to start something new if you really want it.

True that😊