DEV Community

Ibtesum Reza Aninda
Ibtesum Reza Aninda

Posted on

Design Pattern Resources for the noobs

For the last couple of days, design patterns have occupied most of my free time. I did what I always do whenever I start learning new topics. I try to find all the possible resources for learning that topic. Especially the resources that suit my naive brain.

So, I have gathered around some beginner-friendly resources for learning Design Patterns. Here are some of those:

  • Website: Reafactoring Guru : This website is perfect. Their way of organizing the topics completely aligns with my thought process.

There is also a book available by Alexander Shvets on the website. You can buy it for further deep diving.

  • Book: Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide by  Eric Freeman, Elisabeth Robson, Bert Bates, Kathy Sierra.

This is a very well-written book. By well-written I mean it's good for noobs like me.

  • Course: The Ultimate Design Pattern Series by Mosh Hamedani.

I think Mosh Hamedani doesn't need any introduction to the software developers. I have never been more grateful to anyone than this guy. I haven't started his course yet, but I can vouch for him. HE IS THE BEST INSTRUCTOR in the software field.

  • The OG one: You might be wondering why I haven't yet mentioned the book by the Gang of Four. Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software. Honestly, I don't know C++. Yes, I know it doesn't matter. But as a noob developer, I like to grasp the stuff in an easy way that suits my brain. That's why I kept this book in number four.

That's it for today. Please let me know if have any better suggestions. Let's help each other. Let's learn together.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
kirilldedeshin profile image
Kirill Dedeshin

Waiting for the part 2))

Collapse
 
ibtesum profile image
Ibtesum Reza Aninda

I am happy to hear that. In the upcoming parts, I think I am going to write about specific design patterns in depth one by one.