DEV Community

Cover image for The Best Way to Achieve Your Life Goals
Ilona Codes
Ilona Codes

Posted on • Updated on

The Best Way to Achieve Your Life Goals

Originally published as one of the topics of my newsletter edition #2. Get new editions weekly together with bonus Ultimate Professional Networking Cheatsheet!


Do you know what is one of the best things about being a woman who codes? That you can achieve your goals through code: build a career, become an entrepreneur, create a community, teach people, etc.

I am happy that I was so naive at the beginning of my programming journey because knowing so little back then gave me the motivation to think critically about everything I learned later on.

Learning to code (especially to the point where you can start doing what you want) is a lot of work.

It takes time and a lot of discipline, but it is possible.

Unfortunately, too many people make the mistake of doing almost enough work to get where they want and give up in front of the final step to their success.

If you have embarked on a journey to realize your goals and aspirations, I present you simple but extremely powerful ways that can help you stay focused on your goals in life:

Writing down your goals

Before you start chasing your goals, it is better to write them down, get some clarity, and then begin your hustle.

Seeing your goals written down in your own handwriting has a powerful effect on your mind by providing stimulus to your brain. This will help you define a framework or an action plan for it.

Since the beginning of my career, I have been writing down whatever I have wanted. And honestly, I have managed to accomplish eighty percent of them.

Getting priorities straight

You have to be clear about your goals before you start pursuing them. After you have written down your goals, it is time to get serious about them.

Break down your goals and be as specific as possible. Set your priorities straight from day one. Decide what the things that can’t be compromised and prepare your brain to be focused on your mission are.

When you are making changes to your life, it is essential to know what is most valuable to you and what is not.

Aligning habits with the goals

The secret to success lies in things we do regularly a.k.a our habits.

The habits we have formed over the years can either be a catalyst for our goals or an obstacle.

When you change your habits and align them with your goals, you are creating an action plan that is definitely leading to success, sooner or later.

Not comparing to what others are doing

This one is more of a psychological trick than a physical one.

Oftentimes, our constant comparisons are holding us back from achieving our goals.

You are not alone if you are thinking that others have always got it easier than you. We all feel like that, no matter how wrong we are while thinking so.

Train your brain to see the brighter side - no matter what.

Instead of spending time in analyzing who is doing what, focus on how you can outsmart yourself.

Whatever you want to be, remember that you are 100% in the driver's seat of your own life. Don't spend any time or energy living up to what someone else thinks you should be. You need to be happy with the goal that you are trying to achieve.

For example, to become a software engineer or a world-class chef. Or maybe a president of your country. πŸ™ˆ


Ilona helps women developers to succeed in their careers without stress via her weekly newsletter. Sign up and grab her networking cheat sheet as a bonus here.

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Many times in my life I've done exactly what you said in the intro: got something working "just a bit", but then given up on it before it really turned into something bigger.

For the things that have really worked out in my life, the only constant I see is that I just stuck with it, to "grind it out"; just put in the hours... and hours... and eventually - things start working! ✨ like magic ✨

So this post is great. The more you can figure out exactly WHAT your goals are (and align yourself to them internally) - I think the more willing you'll be to do the actual work, and grind it out until things start working.

Thanks for the motivation! πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
pavodev profile image
Ivan Pavic

That s exactly what we need to keep looking for!! That feel of "magic". That s what pushes me every time trough my obstacles! ✨

Collapse
 
som3aware profile image
Ahmed Abu Qahf • Edited

Right on time. I think my struggle lies in not being specific on what goals I want to reach, and being taught to either finish projects under pressure or to finish them perfectly.

I usually have access to courses and materials about things I want to learn, but most of the times I finish 50 or 60% of them and switch to another thing. I think this because in uni, we studied different subjects at the same time, and we never focused on one thing to pursue and give it all the attention even in the senior year, so this affected me to at least know one thing about everything.

One thing also that could hold anyone back is to try to be perfect in everything possible. This haunted me in coding by trying to make the code as perfect as possible by optimizing it and adding comments πŸ˜‚ instead of accounting for speed of finishing the project.

However, after graduation, I've been more active, and specific about my goals but it seems to me, I'm only active cause I might not have time to develop myself if I've been drafted in the military service to serve for three years πŸ˜‚.

The post is great and helpful, because it seems to me that I have an issue with aligning my habits with goals before writing them down first πŸ˜ƒ. Thank you for the motivation. I really need it.

One question: Do you keep them in a place where you can see them everyday?

P.S.: It is obligatory for men in Egypt who finished college to send their papers to the military service, and wait to see if they would be drafted or not.

Collapse
 
skyandsand profile image
Chris C

I have managed to accomplish eighty percent of them.

This is a big part. Realizing that nobody can achieve 100% of their goals is key. Every single person has things they missed out on or were unable to work out. Be content with what you do have, how far you have come from step 1, and be grateful you have the gift of time to whittle down XYZ in your remaining life/career.

Some steps will be big. Some will be small. Some will be backwards. Get knocked down 7 times, get up 8, and things will be fine for you.

Collapse
 
ilonacodes profile image
Ilona Codes

Comparing to where I was and how I lived three years ago, today there is huge progress towards the goals that I wrote down at that time 😌

Collapse
 
sandordargo profile image
Sandor Dargo

How frequently do you write down your goals?

Collapse
 
ilonacodes profile image
Ilona Codes • Edited

The right question:
How often do I review and update them? - At least once a week πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
sandordargo profile image
Sandor Dargo

I asked it like this with a specific purpose. I wanted to see whether your article was inspired by this one.

Collapse
 
sebbdk profile image
Sebastian Vargr

Personal life OKR.
It works.

Collapse
 
cyberpriest profile image
cyberpriest

Hmmm pls ilona is they any way I can be your friend me. I really wanna be your friend pls

Collapse
 
triptych profile image
Andrew Wooldridge

Thanks for this great article. I've been struggling with this a lot myself, and it's nice to get a fresh view about this.

Collapse
 
ramintghz profile image
Ramin

thanks for the recommended thoughts !