DEV Community

Alex Leonhardt
Alex Leonhardt

Posted on

go apps + jaeger tracing

So I've been playing with Jaeger tracing over the last two days a little, to distract me from usual work and thought I'll share what I've put together.

This isn't a tutorial or such, as I still don't know enough about how opentracing / jaegertracing works, so enjoy the code on github, happy to try and help if anyone's got a question (and if I can provide an answer).

TL;DR

The final code works "well", with traces spanning more than one app, with errors, comparing traces, etc.

Github: go-trace-example

Here some screenshots..

img1

img2

img3

img4

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
kooolk profile image
kooolk • Edited

@ineedale - Thanks for the sample. I'm still not sure how / where you have defined the jaeger instance / collector to send traces. Could you please help me here ?

Collapse
 
ineedale profile image
Alex Leonhardt

Do you mean where jaeger itself is running and listening for trace spans?