DEV Community

Cover image for Tumbleweed content
Ingo Steinke
Ingo Steinke

Posted on • Updated on

Tumbleweed content

Ironically, the most specific and most urgent questions, the ones that can't be answered by artificial intelligence as they don't yield any good results using straightforward search queries, are the questions that don't get any helpful answers when I ask them on slack, in a forum, or on StackOverflow.

StackOverflow used to have a badge called "tumbleweed", inspired by the old wild-west movies featuring abondoned villages where there is more tumbleweed than people moving on the main street.

To be fair, most questions either got an answer eventually, or I added one myself. Often the solution was something that I would have considered a hack or a workaround, even when it turned out to be common practice.

Do you have similar experiences? What do you do if you don't get answers to urgent development questions?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

It always been my problem with those sites, I usually don't have time to wait haha. If no one already answered it, and Chat GPT can't, then it's time to roll up the sleeves or to change course...

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke

Another kind of tumbleweed posts are those doomed to abandonment by not accepting answers anymore. Some examples:

  • Closed. This question is not currently accepting answers. (StackOverflow)
  • Locked. This question is locked and replying has been disabled. (Google Support Communities)
  • The topic is closed to new replies. (WordPress.org)
Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

What I like to do is drive really fast, so that due to time dilation the tumbleweeds go past really quickly. When I pull in to park, my question is often answered, though most of my friends are now too old to remember me.

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke

Do you like to drive fast and break things? Seriously, I have learned that I should prefer workarounds to perfect solutions BUT also leave a "TODO" comment so that I can improve the solution later, either after somebody else added a new idea, or when I found something out myself. There is also a chance that bugfixes and enhancements in third-party software eventually solve the original problem.

Collapse
 
lexlohr profile image
Alex Lohr

I usually try to find and answer myself by deepening my understanding of the question. It doesn't always work, but beats standing around watching the tumble weeds tumble.

Collapse
 
ranjancse profile image
Ranjan Dailata

Does that means - tumbled :)

Collapse
 
wwy14137 profile image
wwy14137

wonderful