DEV Community

inputduck
inputduck

Posted on

Virtual Pet Fish - Progress update 29th June

First of all, I tried to recreate the original QBasic version as it would have appeared in the DOS Prompt all those years ago. But with HTML and CSS. I probably could have made it with Bash, but learning Bash just for a screenshot felt like more hassle that necessary.

Image description

This was as close as I could get to a visual of what the old game looked like. Cheap and easy and actually strangely exciting for 12 year old me.

And I spent the majority of my time today trying to get the thing to look somewhere close, whilst being useable and not just ascii. I think i have something. It looks old school, but I think it will do everything i need it to. Ladies and gentlemen, I present, Fish Tank v2

Image description

It's not sparkling or anything, but I like it so far. I have made a grid of 24 squares by 8 squares that the fish will move around on. I arranged them with flexbox and I sort of have an idea of what I will do to make the fish move around. But I don't want to say too much about it in case I mess it up and have to start again. Essentially the shape of the fish is made up of 5 styled classes, the body, the head, the head curve (so it doesn't look too much like an orange pill), the tail and the tail curve. The fish will be placed by adding the class to the fish tank grid cells and when it moves, taking that class away.

I also realised that I would need to make another version of the fish that faces to the left, for when it swims to the left.

I feel strangely proud of the thing.

Also, I have decided to name the fish Bread after a fish that I had at university. But also, the food that it eats will be slices of bread. So I don't know if that's going to be too confusing.

Top comments (0)