DEV Community

Instinct
Instinct

Posted on

Working Directory not configuring Visual Studio 2019

I am creating a django site and I have created django project inside an app folder of the root directory.

My folder structure looks like this

.
├── .gitignore
├── .travis.yml
├── .vs
│   ├── PythonSettings.json
│   ├── VSWorkspaceState.json
│   ├── launch.vs.json
│   ├── recipe-app-api
│   │   └── v16
│   │       └── .suo
│   └── slnx.sqlite
├── Dockerfile
├── LICENSE
├── README.md
├── app
│   ├── app
│   │   ├── __init__.py
│   │   ├── __pycache__
│   │   │   ├── __init__.cpython-37.pyc
│   │   │   ├── calc.cpython-37.pyc
│   │   │   ├── settings.cpython-37.pyc
│   │   │   ├── tests.cpython-37.pyc
│   │   │   └── urls.cpython-37.pyc
│   │   ├── calc.py
│   │   ├── settings.py
│   │   ├── tests.py
│   │   ├── urls.py
│   │   └── wsgi.py
│   └── manage.py
├── docker-compose.yml
└── requirements.txt

I have configured my launch.vs.json file like this

{
  "version": "0.2.1",
  "defaults": {},
  "configurations": [
    {
      "type": "python",
      "interpreter": "(default)",
      "interpreterArguments": "",
      "scriptArguments": "",
      "env": {},
      "nativeDebug": false,
      "webBrowserUrl": "",
      "project": "app\\manage.py",
      "name": "manage.py",
      "workingDirectory": "app"
    }
  ]
}

The problem still is that Visual Studio 2019 cannot detect that my working directory is the app folder. That's why it showing the python import is unresolved.

Image of the error

Am I doing something wrong in the launch.vs.json file? How can I solve this?

I am using the latest version of Visual Studio 2019.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
instinct profile image
Instinct

Please help #help