DEV Community

ItsASine (Kayla)
ItsASine (Kayla)

Posted on

What are your programming hype songs?

I've been meaning to put together a playlist of songs to get into the zone to finish ALL THE FEATURES EVER.

Right now, it's just Code Monkey on repeat.

What are your suggestions for some good hype songs?

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
perttisoomann profile image
Pert Soomann

At the moment Cyberpunk 2077 trailer soundtrack more often than not.

But also God Of War soundtrack, Mr Robot soundtrack, latest Doom soundtrack, John Wick soundtrack... hmmm... There seems to be a pattern here :D

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

You can switch it up and do something like the Videogames Meet Metal albums from Erock. Skyrim Meets Metal is great :D

Collapse
 
perttisoomann profile image
Pert Soomann

Cheers, will check it out later :)

Collapse
 
sudiukil profile image
Quentin Sonrel

Doom soundtrack is just pure (argent) energy :D

Collapse
 
perttisoomann profile image
Pert Soomann

Yeah, pretty good for getting pumped up, but doesn't get "in the way", if that makes sense. Guess that's the beauty of soundtracks, they are designed to be on background.

Thread Thread
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

That is a solid point -- anytime you hear a game has a good soundtrack, it tends to be one to get you hyped without being distracting.

Or it's Brutal Legend where they got a ton of amazing licensed material that fit the feel of the game.

Thread Thread
 
perttisoomann profile image
Pert Soomann

Ah man Brutal Legend... Wish they did a sequel for that one, v solid game (minus the RTS :D ) in my opinion.

Thread Thread
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

Same! If I remember correctly, it requires tweaking to work on modern systems. I'd like to see a GOG version that Just Works or a full-blown remaster (with adjustments to the RTS)

Thread Thread
 
perttisoomann profile image
Pert Soomann • Edited

It was free on Amazon Prime few days ago. I think Double Fine now owns the IP so if they wanted to, they could make another, but I guess they're busy with smaller games now. Kind of makes sense, going solo with massive open world AAA games is a big risk.

Thread Thread
 
sudiukil profile image
Quentin Sonrel

Tim Schafer (Double Fine's founder) is willing to make a sequel to the game and the last official news were basically "It will done... eventually."

Last time I heard about it the main reported issue was... money. Although the deal was "if Psychonauts 2 does well, Brutal Legend 2 will be possible"... and Psychonauts 2 crowd-funding was indeed pretty successful 😀

Thread Thread
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

The biggest thing with money is getting the licensed songs and the big name actors and singers to be voice actors... it'd need to be a huge Kickstarter to get that to line up again

Thread Thread
 
sudiukil profile image
Quentin Sonrel

Yeah, that's the reason why the first has no songs from artists like Iron Maiden, too expensive :'(

Thread Thread
 
perttisoomann profile image
Pert Soomann

There is slight problem that big games usually take 3-5 years complete, but seeing as music biz struggles, wouldn't be surprised if artists would see this as way to PR their band and not charge full price.

I'm actually trying to convince few bands I know or am related to through family, showing off little Guitar Hero rip-offs I've put together in GameMaker, but smaller bands are very... erm... slow to put much effort into promo :D

Collapse
 
pmcgowan profile image
p-mcgowan • Edited

Synthwave / retro tech, mostly instrumental. I find this to be the most focussing music, and it gives me energy to go all day.

synthwave

Collapse
 
astarael2 profile image
Simon Mills

My current Concentrate playlist includes tracks from:

  • Toundra.
  • Polyphia.
  • Intervals.
  • Plini.
  • Madeon.

Instrumental techno/trancey/metaly/rocky stuff seems to work for me.
Also the entire album Siren Song Of Counter Culture by Rise Against if I really need noise to block out my surroundings.

Collapse
 
doshirae profile image
Doshirae

I love djent too <3

I am currently listening to the album 'Flux' by Sean Ashe, it is really good
Also you might wanna check out Starsystem

Collapse
 
leanminmachine profile image
leanminmachine

Madeon!!!

I'm super into Porter Robinson, ODESZA, xxyxxx & Robotaki as well.

Collapse
 
alchermd profile image
John Alcher

I can't focus writing code with music on. The code that I'm about to write gets drowned by the lyrics :(

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson • Edited

Try music with no lyrics :)

Collapse
 
alchermd profile image
John Alcher

I guess I'd try! Some orchestral score of the original Pokemon R/B/Y soundtrack should be a good one :D

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

To be honest, the best music for coding (any task requiring concentration) is music I don't know or, at the very least, music without familiar lyrics. I find that familiar music, particularly if I know the words, tends to pull me out of the zone. New-to-me music or music that I don't know the words to, I'm better able to leave far enough in the background that it can pace me without distracting me.

Collapse
 
isaacdlyman profile image
Isaac Lyman

I've got a playlist of interesting but low-energy songs I use for coding:

open.spotify.com/user/isaaclyman/p...

It's mostly lyric-free so it won't distract you.

Collapse
 
realshadow profile image
Lukáš Homza

I like to open youtube and listen to random "epic music". I prefer music more than singing as it I tend to subconsciously focus on lyrics since english is not my native language. Only exception is female vocals...

In time I created my own playlists from my personal favorites and my person favorite is Strength of a Thousand Men from Two Steps from Hell, the 10 hour version of course :D

Collapse
 
hugecoderguy profile image
Christian Kreiling

I like to just chill out with a serious-ish vibe, preferably no lyrics. Kaytranada definitely stands out. Also any nice sounding jazz-based beats. This is a Spotify playlist I love to put on.

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

Depends on what I'm doing.

If I'm problem solving, researching or general googling, rock and metal are my go to genres. Anything like Arcane Roots, Slipknot, Biffy Clyro, Bullet For My Valentine, etc.

If I'm trying to get in the zone and I have a lot of code to write, I listen to The Grand Sound on YouTube, or other dj mixes that have no words in it.

Collapse
 
wessly profile image
Gottfrid Svartholm

Fast drum'n'bass ;)

Collapse
 
bchhun profile image
Bernard Chhun
  • Bonobo
  • Chipzel
Collapse
 
chuckconde profile image
Facundo Conde

I listen to a lot of different things while working, but if I want to get really hyped I listen to some anime op or Japanese rock band like ONE OK ROCK. Those guys know how to do epic music

Collapse
 
boredcodeon profile image
boredandcode

Anything by Sam Smith.

Collapse
 
cseeman profile image
christine

Rush's 2112 Album is one I just listen to straight through for programming, and IDIOTAPE's album 11111101

Collapse
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)

If you're still working on this, I find that songs in foreign languages are also good for working, assuming that you don't speak that particular language. You can more or less zone out.