DEV Community

Cover image for DEV + Casey
Casey πŸ’Ž
Casey πŸ’Ž

Posted on

DEV + Casey

I'm thrilled to announce that today is my first day as a Community Associate with the Forem and DEV team.

Who am I?

Professionally

I'm a self-taught engineer who learned Java by accident, UI/UX designer, and Community enthusiast. I've worked professionally with frameworks/libraries such as Vue and React, I've built a Streetwear fashion community to ~40K users, and I've been a top-level community admin for a gaming community that had over 4.5 million subscribers between the three owners.

How did you learn Java by accident? Easy! All I did at that time was play RuneScape with a few of my friends. Holy wow, it took ages to get a decent account, even after we’ve been playing for four or five years at that point. I wanted to build a Private Server - so I tried. I didn’t know what coding/programming was at the time and I was literally using a text editor on my Samsung Series 7 Chronos. Eventually, I gathered an understanding of programming by learning what "Java" was

Personally

I'm a husband and a dad to two little babies. I enjoy programming, playing video games, going on hikes/walks in our local redwood forests, and mowing the lawn, yep - I like mowing the lawn...

Why Forem?

I was really excited for the opportunity to join the Forem and DEV team as I love writing code and learning new languages, frameworks, etc... I thought I would be a great asset to the team and to all of you wonderful community members around me at DEV.

Feel free to hang out with me here or on Twitter

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Welcome Casey! :)

Collapse
 
itscasey profile image
Casey πŸ’Ž

Thanks, Rhymes! Glad to be here :)

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Welcome aboard! :)

Collapse
 
itscasey profile image
Casey πŸ’Ž

Andy, thank you!

Collapse
 
ellativity profile image
Ella (she/her/elle)

Happy you're here, Casey. Looking forward to working together!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! Really awesome to have ya on the team, Casey. I'm excited to work with you in the Community department. πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
itscasey profile image
Casey πŸ’Ž

Thanks, Michael!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to the team Casey! 😎

Collapse
 
itscasey profile image
Casey πŸ’Ž

Thanks, Nick!