DEV Community

J3ffJessie
J3ffJessie

Posted on

Why I am starting over with JavaScript.

Why am I starting over with JavaScript?

Well to start, I am a junior developer in the making. I have been through tutorial purgatory and survived. I then decided to go through a bootcamp course on Udemy. The course itself was amazing and I learned so much. From HTML, CSS, JavaScript and jQuery. Then to NodeJS, Express, MongoDB and others. Wait you just said you learned JavaScript so why are you starting over?

Well, I thought I learned JavaScript. I realized I didn’t learn enough when I started with React. I started with a simple React app just a SPA that was really a follow along to get familiar, and that’s when it hit me. I have no clue what I am doing.

Now, to be honest I brought it on myself; I have been naive with how much I thought I was learning. Simple JavaScript with HTML and CSS was fairly simple but when I had to start creating my own functions to handle things I was lost. LOST which caused severe issues when it came to React.

SO

I am starting over with JavaScript. From the beginning and slowly studying to ensure I grasp the fundamentals and really understand it. No tutorials on this one, strictly reading and note taking. I don’t want to fall into the false sense of thinking I’m learning because I’m making a cool project happen by following someone else coding. This is the first step towards my dream and realizing I set myself up for failure the first time is the first step in correcting my journey.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

I know that exact feeling. Been there. I would recommend to stick it out with React. Learning React will help you learn JavaScript. If you can already know the basics of JavaScript, you know enough to do React. You use JavaScript in a very specific way to write React, and practicing React, is the best way to improve those specific JavaScript muscles.

That's what coding is like. You learn something and get proficient with it, then you get introduced to this whole new context and it can be very overwhelming. But being overwhelmed is fine. Be overwhelmed and push through it and you'll be glad you did.

Collapse
 
j3ffjessie profile image
J3ffJessie

Definitely. Still pushing through and working on things. Pushing and learning.

Collapse
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

Hell yeah! If you hit any tough blockers, send me a message. I might know something that can help you out. 🔥

Thread Thread
 
j3ffjessie profile image
J3ffJessie

Really appreciate that for sure. I’ll keep you in mind.

Collapse
 
heytimapple profile image
Tim Apple

I’m doing similar thing myself.