DEV Community

Jacob Mendez
Jacob Mendez

Posted on

I'm 23 years old, is it too late to start learning programming?

Hello,
So many programmers began to learn programming at a young age, I'm 23 years old, is it too late to start learning programming and get a job?

Top comments (33)

Collapse
 
pclundaahl profile image
Patrick Charles-Lundaahl

Heck no! If you were in your 30s and wanted to get into software, I'd still say do it.

I switched careers and went back to school at 28. I'm 31 now, and I've been working as a software developer for a year.

Collapse
 
jac_menz profile image
Jacob Mendez

I appreciate the answer

Collapse
 
adamkdean profile image
Adam K Dean • Edited

Not at all. It's never too late to learn anything. In fact, as it stands right now, the best time to start learning programming is actually today.

Collapse
 
jac_menz profile image
Jacob Mendez

Thanks

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

I'm 28, I hope not.

Collapse
 
arupam profile image
Arupam kumar saha

It's Never too late to start . I know a guy who started in his 40s . All you need is passion . Start as early as possible devote yourself to a particular language basics and then start doing projects. There are some full time coding schools and bootcamps I heard they are great If you can dedicate about 6 months or something full-time . Some of them even have pay after landing job . These programs seem promising . There are also YouTube tutorials and sites like Coursera, Edx , Udemy which provides you with certificates . Age certificates and Degrees doesn't matter today . Skills and strong project portfolio do . Learning doesn't require age . Same goes for jobs as long as you are able to do something great your age never matter.

I hope this helps.

Collapse
 
jac_menz profile image
Jacob Mendez

it's really helpful, thank you so much

Collapse
 
csharplove profile image
csharplove

If you look it up on YouTube there is video of the oldest programming person in the world at the age of 76 she wrote her first program and she use the same program to play with her friends ... she’s from japan ..
Never is to late,there gonna be people who start at the young age but it depend..

If you want to be good at programming there are three things :
1- motivation
2-discipline
3-Repeat the step #1 & #2

Collapse
 
harrison_codes profile image
Harrison Reid

You're definitely not too old! I didn't land a programming job until I was 25 (and hadn't really started learning until a year or two before then), so I was in a similar position to you. You just need to make sure you're consistently learning over a decent period of time.

My advice is to avoid spending too long following beginner tutorials etc, and start building your own personal projects (apps/websites) as early as possible. Intentionally choose projects where you feel out of your depth, and then google heavily to figure out the solutions to problems as you encounter them.

Collapse
 
daniel13rady profile image
Daniel Brady

I didn't start learning until I was 20, not that much younger than you. But it hasn't made a noticeable difference in my ability to do it, and if any potential employers have cared about it, I haven't noticed because there were plenty of others that didn't! 😄

Collapse
 
marcoslooten profile image
Marco Slooten

Like any skill, it will be slightly harder to learn at an 'older' age but it's definitely doable! But perhaps you can create an environment that's more supportive of you learning to code. For instance, I had luck or lucky circumstances in two ways: during university, I started building websites freelance. That's an excellent way to learn a skill and make a few bucks on the side. Later, in my first job, I could see some areas where coding could come in handy. I was learning in the evenings and weekends, but applying that newfound logic on the day job was very valuable.

So if you really want to program, just start. There's plenty of resources out there.

Collapse
 
xgrimau profile image
Xavi

Of course not! It's a matter of how passionate and focused on learning you are, no matter the age.

And, if you are one of the few that is willing to read technical books once you get the basics, your progress will skyrocket.

Collapse
 
rwnx profile image
Rowan Twell 🌈

Not only is there not such a thing as "too late", you will be shaped by your experience of learning it at a different time in your life. This will be something to celebrate - not to worry about. Your attitude and your desire to learn are far more important than your material skills.

Some of the most respected colleagues/professionals I know learned or even pivoted from wildly different industries - and far later in their careers. You've got plenty more ahead of you - you got this! 🎉🥳

Collapse
 
carolstran profile image
Carolyn Stransky

I started learning at 23 too! I went to a coding bootcamp and ended up being one of the youngest in my cohort. And today, many of the successful engineers I know had full careers before they ever got into programming.

So long answer short: No 😊

Collapse
 
rolfstreefkerk profile image
Rolf Streefkerk

There's no such thing as too late. I think this idea comes from comparing to your peers or people on the internet. The time is right when you feel you want to learn and do it. This applies to everything.

Collapse
 
hayden profile image
Hayden Rouille

I know people who've gone to university to be a doctor after the age of 30 because they want to change careers... Of course it's not too late, if anything you're starting at a normal age!

Collapse
 
quintanamartin profile image
quintanamartin

Im 31, started at 30 and Im currently working as front end dev

Collapse
 
jac_menz profile image
Jacob Mendez

wow, that's amazing

Collapse
 
serkanalgur profile image
Serkan Algur

Nope. Not late, You can start from scratch. Also, try #100DaysOfCode like challenges.

Collapse
 
jac_menz profile image
Jacob Mendez

I will try that