DEV Community

Cover image for I didn't want to read a deep learning book, so I built a tool to read it for me
janBuild
janBuild

Posted on

I didn't want to read a deep learning book, so I built a tool to read it for me

I discovered the free ebook Understanding Deep Learning and I had the idea to listen to the book, instead of reading it on the screen.

So I've built a tool to turn it into MP3s so I can listen to it. I'm now almost done with the book, I listen to the audio chapters every day on my commute to work.

For regular text you can simply use any text-to-speech api, but for technical text containing formulas its more contrived. So I used ChatGPT to simplify the text for a better audio experience.

I've just launched the MVP, so let me know what you think. Do you like the simplification of the text? pdftomp3.com

Top comments (0)