DEV Community

Dani Jaros
Dani Jaros

Posted on

How to choose the stack for a project?

I'm new at programming and have a list of projects I would like to work on. Just having a hard time deciding which language, frameworks and tools to use. How do you decide which stack to use?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
avasconcelos114 profile image
Andre Vasconcelos • Edited

Personally, it depends on a couple of factors:

  1. Purpose of the project: depending on whether i'm working on a personal project with the intent of learning something, or whether I intend to have real users on the application. I may pick something completely new to me, or try to be cautious and use something a bit more "field tested".

  2. Complexity: Depending on what's in your list of requirements, you may need to implement some things that are best done in a specific language/framework. In simple projects I find myself using Node.js a lot since you can quickly have an API server up and running, and when we move up in complexity I'll start looking at Golang instead (since it does a better job catching my mistakes, and comes with a lot more out-of-the-box functionality than Node does)

  3. Familiarity: While this depends heavily on item #1, I still try to make sure I know what I'm getting into before diving into a new stack, and try to never use I'm 100% new to in a professional setting (though I experiment a lot with new things on my spare time)

In case you're curious about the specific stacks other people use, I'll just list down my go-to options:

Front-end: React, Angular, React Native (mobile), Vue (still experimenting with this one)
Back-end: Node.js (with Express), Golang, Java, Python (with Flask)

Honorable mention: using an API Gateway + Lambda + DynamoDB stack from AWS for the back-end of an application (Lambda & DynamoDB are free forever, API Gateway is free for 1 year)

Sorry bout the messy writing, feel free to ask for more details or information if you like

Collapse
 
jaro0024 profile image
Dani Jaros

Thank you!