DEV Community

Cover image for I was recently diagnosed with a chronic illness. Now what?
Jasterix
Jasterix

Posted on

I was recently diagnosed with a chronic illness. Now what?

I learned the news a few weeks ago now and I still can't come to terms with it. I'm off from work to deal with the fallout of the diagnosis. But for the first time in my life, I feel like I have no direction. My future is cloudy. What happens to my career journey? How do I communicate this to others? How can I regain my confidence?

My illness is something that will affect my quality of life. I'm in therapy but it's all about accepting things we cannot change and learning to cope. I have no energy for anything. I'm scared I'll be laid off and lose health insurance. I'm scared I won't be able to code or work as a SWE after only 2 years. I'm scared that people will look at me differently. I'm scared I did this to myself by overworking. I'm scared of too many things.

Has anyone else been through this? If so, how did you come to terms with it? How did you continue your life as you knew it?

Thanks.
J

Photo by Anni Roenkae: https://www.pexels.com/photo/photo-of-multicolored-illustration-2832382/

Top comments (0)