DEV Community

Play Button Pause Button
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’»
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’»

Posted on • Updated on

Know When To STOP Learning And Just Write The Code!

Software development draws many of us in with endless opportunities to learn, but is it right for every project?

Early in my career I wanted to know everything possible about the software companies I worked for.

But a couple of years in software consulting taught me I could actually be a better developer by learning to ignore information sometimes.

In this video, I share a story of a project I was on where the relationship was in trouble between my agency and a client.

Fixing the relationship was the most important thing to do.

The relationship was repaired quickly - but only through ignoring some things about the software!

Visit my site to watch the full video (or listen as a podcast):

πŸ“Ί Watch or 🎧 Listen


πŸ”” Subscribe for over 100 videos on healthy software development

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
chrisvasqm profile image
Christian Vasquez

Thanks for sharing this, Jayme!

I found this video really helpful as I'm currently working on a big project and during my first 2 weeks I was overwhelmed and stressed out because of that feeling of not knowing everything.

Collapse
 
jaymeedwards profile image
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’»

So glad to hear it helps!

Thanks for your feedback. πŸ‘Œ