DEV Community

Jakub T. Jankiewicz
Jakub T. Jankiewicz

Posted on • Originally published at gist.github.com

How to get a literally free CDN

  1. Create repo on GitHub where you'll put your files.
  2. Use jsDeliver or statically to get your assets.

Here is repo I'm using:

https://github.com/jcubic/static

And links to files look like this:

I use this when I need static JavaScript files for NPM packages that don't support UMD. If I need to use it on CodePen.

If I have a package like this. I use browserify + uglifyjs:

npm install name
browserify -s name -r name | uglifyjs > name.min.js
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Then I can commit the files to git and use them on CodePen.

browserify and uglifyjs I have installed globally:

npm i -g browserify uglify-js
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Interesting Browserify plugins that you may use:

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
thisjustin profile image
This Justin

This is a pretty clever and hilarious use of gh. Thanks for sharing 👍