DEV Community

Jonathan Cutrell
Jonathan Cutrell

Posted on

What languages are you learning or planning to learn, and why?

Are you learning a new language? What is the reasoning behind what you are learning? What principles are you picking up along the way?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
val_baca profile image
Valentin Baca • Edited

I've been doing a "breadth-first" style tour of languages that I've been meaning to learn. I don't claim to "know" any of these languages after my tour. Instead I'm focusing on:

  1. Learning new concepts (lisp-macros, metaprogramming, CSP concurrency)
  2. Just Familiar Enough to decide for/against using a language for future projects
  3. Learning languages is just fun and gets easier with each new language

I know I (probably) won't use these languages in the future, but keeping my finger on the pulse of things is important.

  1. Lisp (specifically Common Lisp) to learn about, well, Lisp (lisp macros, how Lisp does OOP, etc)
  2. Go to learn about CSP concurrency and Go's style of OOP-without-OOP
  3. Python to know a simpler language better suited for interviews, coding challenges, and to keep up with trends. (#2 most loved and #1 most wanted language1)
  4. Crystal...just for fun. I like statically-typed languages with an emphasis on developer happiness ("slick as Ruby") and are fast-enough ("fast as C"). Crystal looks to be the best of both worlds and just needs more maturity, attention, or popularity. I'm going to keep a close eye on this project.

I'll probably take a break from my tour as I focus back on my "day job" languages, but I hope to eventually get to:

  1. Rust to see what makes it the most loved language 1
  2. Haskell to see what a "purely" functional language
Collapse
 
theodesp profile image
Theofanis Despoudis

Scalia and Clojure at least more practice