DEV Community

Cover image for The 7 Most Popular DEV Posts from the Past Week
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

The 7 Most Popular DEV Posts from the Past Week

1. 💯💯💯💯

Karina shares the benefits of sticking to the 100 days of code challenge -- from become a better vision of yourself to connecting with like-minded people.

2. Dope new thing

A prettier version of the TensorFlow demo -- with lots of code comments explaining what's happening.

3. Carving out a new path

A story about how one soldier's passion and interest in programming led them to a better career path.

4. Advice on staying employable

You don't need to code 24/7 but you must continue paying attention to how web development evolves or you risk becoming stagnant. This article and video dives into an example of how easy it is to stop paying attention.

5. Leave your comfort zone

It's easy to get stuck watching tutorials upon tutorials and never diving into an actual project. This post shares why it's so important to step out of your comfort zone and start hacking!

6. Is Regex finally powerful in JS?

New regex capabilities in JavaScript: Dotfall Flag, Named Capture Groups, Unicode Escapes, and Lookbehinds!

7. Every step counts

A tutorial on creating an automatic HTML reporting tool in Python.

That's it for our weekly wrap up! Keep an eye on dev.to this week for daily content and discussions...and if you miss anything, we'll be sure to recap it next Monday!

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

@notwaldorf at the time of your post we didn't have magic Glitch embeds for DEV posts.

But tada!

It's as simple as {% glitch hello-tensorflow %} if you want to include Glitch embeds in the future 🙂

Collapse
 
greencoder profile image
Vincent Cantin

Wow! I certainly am going to use that type of embed. Thanks !!!

Collapse
 
anthonylavado profile image
Anthony Lavado

I haven’t been getting these e-mails even though I’m sure I have it turned on. Any ideas?

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee • Edited

oh no!

Some folks have told me they use gmail and it gets categorized into a 'promotions' folder without hitting their regular inbox. Could that be the case?

OR IS IT IN YOUR SPAM BOX? 😰

Details on email provider could help me narrow it down too :)

Collapse
 
anthonylavado profile image
Anthony Lavado • Edited

Sure! I'm using iCloud, and I do get the Dev Digest (as well as the notification for this reply).

Not sure what happened really.

Just to be sure, I have every notification turned on except:

  • Send me occasional reminders that I have unread notifications on dev.to
Thread Thread
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Hmm okay, I'll create an issue about it.
And to triple confirm, it didn't end up in spam?

Thread Thread
 
anthonylavado profile image
Anthony Lavado

You got it - Spam is clear. I have yo@ added to my contacts to prevent this just in case.

Thanks for looking at it!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

@karinaislam congrats, this seems like the perfect cap for your 100 days of code 😄

Collapse
 
karinaislam profile image
Karina.I

Thanks Ben, yehh!!! 😄😄😄 Didn't expect it... It encourages me to write and share more my experience.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yay!