DEV Community

Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What does FOUC stand for?

I saw the below screen on my phone earlier and shared it with the team. It went away on refresh and I couldn't reproduce it, but wanted to check that no one else was seeing it.

@maestromac responded with, "looks like FOUC."

I had no idea what that meant but on a quick search, realized that it stands for "Flash of Unstyled Content."

Straight forward enough, but what an acronym! How is it even pronounced?!

jumbled-notifications

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
ryansmith profile image
Ryan Smith • Edited

I feel that acronyms often have a tendency to hurt communication instead of helping. If it is not widely used, why create or perpetuate the use of acronym? I have seen cases where acronyms are the same or more syllables than the original phrase, why??

An acronym here and there might seem fine if it helps simplify communication (no one wants to say "HyperText Markup Language" all the time), but in workplaces it tends to build up over the years with company-specific lingo. Bringing in new developers on a project becomes that much more difficult because of all the terms they need to ask about or be ignorant to if they stay quiet about it. Acronyms do not only permeate spoken language, but they end up in the codebase. Not only does the new person have difficult challenges in meetings when these are used, but also when they are developing.

PBTAYAU (please be thoughtful about your acronym usage).

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Couldn't agree more!!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Reminds me of this memo Elon Musk sent out:

Acronyms Seriously Suck

There is a creeping tendency to use made up acronyms at SpaceX. Excessive use of made up acronyms is a significant impediment to communication and keeping communication good as we grow is incredibly important. Individually, a few acronyms here and there may not seem so bad, but if a thousand people are making these up, over time the result will be a huge glossary that we have to issue to new employees. No one can actually remember all these acronyms and people don't want to seem dumb in a meeting, so they just sit there in ignorance. This is particularly tough on new employees.

That needs to stop immediately or I will take drastic action - I have given enough warning over the years. Unless an acronym is approved by me, it should not enter the SpaceX glossary. If there is an existing acronym that cannot reasonably be justified, it should be eliminated, as I have requested in the past.

For example, there should be not "HTS" [horizontal test stand] or "VTS" [vertical test stand] designations for test stands. Those are particularly dumb, as they contain unnecessary words. A "stand" at our test site is obviously a test stand. VTS-3 is four syllables compared with "Tripod", which is two, so the bloody acronym version actually takes longer to say than the name!

The key test for an acronym is to ask whether it helps or hurts communication. An acronym that most engineers outside of SpaceX already know, such as GUI, is fine to use. It is also ok to make up a few acronyms/contractions every now and again, assuming I have approved them, e.g. MVac and M9 instead of Merlin 1C-Vacuum or Merlin 1C-Sea Level, but those need to be kept to a minimum.

Thread Thread
 
ryansmith profile image
Ryan Smith

That is awesome, I love his hidden joke in the subject line. 😂 I wouldn't expect Elon to get caught up in things like this, but it is good to know that big tech entrepreneurs encounter similar problems.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

Jess you've been quietly petitioning for #todayigoogled and I agree. It's a great way to summarize any search you did in the most digestible way for the next person who might be Googling it.

#todayigoogled

Summarize your search findings so someone else can learn from your journey.
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

It's similar to #todayilearned but I really do see a bit of a differentiation around context and helpfulness.

But #todayilearned is another useful tag we could lean in to.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.
Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

I agree with Jess about the whole "Google" thing. There are several search engines, DuckDuckGo being a huge one (the only one I use). With privacy being a big thing right now, we really don't want to reinforce Google's (illusion of) ubiquity.

How about #todayisearched, and just ALIAS #todayigoogled to that?

Thread Thread
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Yeah, good call. I'll update that.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

OH yeah. I forgot all about that one. I don't love #todayigoogled bc....I wish I was duckduckgo'in instead! I'm going to throw #TIL on as well.

Thread Thread
 
joehobot profile image
Joe Hobot • Edited

#TIG vs #TIL

Collapse
 
pavelloz profile image
Paweł Kowalski

and its equivalent for privacy concerned - todayiducked ;)

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

Ah yes, the seconds until JS fixes what CSS couldn't do.

I'd say like "fouck", like "doubt" or "foul".

Besides I really like FOUC and FOUT (Text) and I'm sad that many websites hide all content until it's all perfectly in place. Unstyled content is still better than no content, and nobody will throw away their phone in disguist of overlapping icons.

Collapse
 
berslucas profile image
Lucas Bersier

I think the main reason it's an acronym is to differentiate from FOUT and FOIT. I never have seen FOUC being used, however.

Collapse
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

TIG localhost by accident for the nth time...

TIL & #TIG would be really awesome to follow!

Collapse
 
ulitroyo profile image
Uli Troyo

Hahaha, I read it like "poke" but with an F. It's a pretty wackadoodle acronym.

Collapse
 
davefollett profile image
Dave Follett

Initially, I read this as For Official Use Only (FOUO) and was confused. Too many acronyms, too many.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Just caught up on our Slack messages and then found this ✅✅✅

Collapse
 
eekayonline profile image
Edwin Klesman

As, in FOUC-ing hell?? 🤭🤔

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim • Edited

I abandoned old home page due to FOUC...

demo