DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

👋👋👋👋

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

nickelodeon-gif

Top comments (71)

Collapse
 
nektro profile image
Meghan (she/her)

Today's my birthday! 😁 (I'm 23 btw)

Collapse
 
archeelux profile image
Arturs Timofejevs • Edited

Birthday Happy!!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

HBD Meghan!

Collapse
 
stacy_cash profile image
Stacy Cashmore

Gefeliciteerd! Happy birthday!

Collapse
 
mhsangar profile image
Mario Sánchez García

Happy birthday, Meghan! 🥳

Collapse
 
murkrage profile image
Mike Ekkel

Happy Birthday 🎉

Collapse
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

Happy birthday!!

Collapse
 
eaich profile image
Eddie

Launched my company website with satisfying Lighthouse results! 💪

Collapse
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

The most satisfying feeling EVER. Getting a 90+ on everything with Lighthouse. BTW, did you happen to have used GatsbyJS to build your site?

Collapse
 
eaich profile image
Eddie

Def a good feeling. No, I did not use Gatsby.

Thread Thread
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

What language and hosting did you use?

Thread Thread
 
darcrux profile image
Gaurav

looks like its top secret.

Thread Thread
 
eaich profile image
Eddie

Sorry for the delay! It's just plain HTML and CSS written from scratch. Some minor JS for forms and shared hosting on GoDaddy but fronted by Cloudflare for caching, DNS management, security.

Collapse
 
allison profile image
Allison Walker

What do you use your service worker for?

Collapse
 
e4r profile image
Leonardo Maria Miliacca

Congrats! Definitely an example to follow!

Collapse
 
nedyudombat profile image
Nedy Udombat

I passed 2 stages of a technical interview this week. Looking to the last phase on Monday.

Collapse
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

Good luck!

Collapse
 
nedyudombat profile image
Nedy Udombat

I GOT THE JOB GUYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Thanks for all the Love and support

Collapse
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻 • Edited

I was on a trip and we climbed the highest mountain in that state! It was 1km high and views from the top were extremely pretty ❤️❤️ Also, this week was the first time I traveled in an airplane alone.

Picture from top of Girnar Hills, Gujarat, India

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

Ordered my Hacktoberfest shirt!

Complete Hacktoberfest Profile

I was super impressed that they had women's cut shirts, too. Most free t-shirt kind of things are purely unisex cut, which then gets into the weird situation where I weigh double my boyfriend but we're both "Medium". Unisex is not a good cut on any sex.

Collapse
 
gklijs profile image
Gerard Klijs • Edited

This week it's an easy one for me. As I was a speaker on a conference for the first time. I got to speak at GraphQL Summit about using Kafka with GraphQL demo is still spinning.

Collapse
 
gklijs profile image
Gerard Klijs

Video is online now, youtu.be/EN73NiR8xZI

Collapse
 
tuwang profile image
TuWang

Found someone special 🙈🙈🙈❤️!

Collapse
 
binyamin profile image
Binyamin Green

I registered my first domain name at binyam.in with namecheap!!!!

Collapse
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

I launched my portfolio site using Gatsby! I'm pretty impressed that it loads in under 1 second 🔥

jarodpeachey.netlify.com

Collapse
 
bhupesh profile image
Bhupesh Varshney 👾 • Edited

Looks 👌

Collapse
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

Thank you!!

Collapse
 
aut0poietic profile image
Jer

Always love this topic. Helps to find a positive each week. So ah, thanks for starting it. :-)

This week I took a day off and just played with some code I've been "intending" to play with and never seem to find time for.

Project is simple/silly, but the stack is Go (+gorilla/mux) + MongoDB + Svelte. The Go+Mongo look to be the easy part of the whole thing and I had a functioning (if incomplete) API up in a few hours that was also delivering my SPA.

Svelte, on the other hand, looks to be more difficult. I usually want to see 3-5 different approaches to architecture before I settle on a path, and at this point there isn't a lot of real-world work that's not Sapper (which doesn't appear to mesh well with the Go-as-server route).

It was silly, and fun and went a long way towards recharging my batteries.

Collapse
 
_morgan_adams_ profile image
morgana

First dev.to pull request merged.

he-man head banging gif

Collapse
 
nektro profile image
Meghan (she/her)

congrats!

Collapse
 
aayushg159 profile image
Aayush Gupta

Started a new side project. Still in it's design phase though. I want to maintain this in the long run as well 🙂

Collapse
 
dimensi0n profile image
Erwan ROUSSEL

Good luck ;)

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I killed 8k lines of code from an enterprise product, and integrated automated testing, code coverage, and NDepend analysis baked into the CI/CD pipeline.

I also finished my first product review contract work (it comes out tomorrow) and came to terms on a second item to be released in the new year.

Collapse
 
maxmonteil profile image
Maximilien Monteil

Successfully accomplished a context switch from code to design!

I'm building an app (mylo) and with new features and ideas I often have to switch from a coding mindset to a designer mindset and there's always some friction there 🤷🏾‍♂️

Collapse
 
kristijankanalas profile image
Kristijan Kanalaš • Edited

My company hasn't done remote ever, but I still asked if I could go to Japan for 2 months and work from there, amazingly I got a yes. That was a few months ago, yesterday I bought my airplane tickets to Japan. 😁