DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Finishing a puzzle...or whatever else that may spark joy πŸ˜„

parakeet-jigsaw-puzzle

Happy Friday!

Top comments (84)

Collapse
 
sarahcodes_dev profile image
Sarah πŸ¦„

I got a new job! 🎈 I gave notice at my current job and will be moving to Amsterdam in a couple of months 🀞 to start my new role as a Senior Frontend Engineer πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
twitmyreview profile image
Priyab Dash

Congrats hope this lockdown ends soon, I had some opportunity to move to Belgium but stuck for now.

Collapse
 
sarahcodes_dev profile image
Sarah πŸ¦„

Thank you and congrats to you too! Yeah I’m hoping I can get over in the summer if things calm down! I hope you can get to Belgium soon too!

Collapse
 
notfocaccia profile image
Alicia Fasciocco

Wow! That's awesome! Congratulations on the new role and the move. I would love to live in the Netherlands.

Collapse
 
sarahcodes_dev profile image
Sarah πŸ¦„

Thanks! I'm so excited!!

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

Congrats! That is so exciting.

Collapse
 
leadersheir_ profile image
Warisul Imam

That's amazing! Really happy for you! Keep on CODING!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Conngraaats πŸŽ‰β˜•

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Congratulations Sarah. Keep us posted on everything 🌞

Collapse
 
joeattardi profile image
Joe Attardi

I published and sold 17 copies of my first-ever book, "Using Gatsby and Netlify CMS"! I didn't know what to expect as I have never written a book before, but it was a lot of fun!

leanpub.com/using-gatsby-and-netli...

Collapse
 
leadersheir_ profile image
Warisul Imam

That's really cool! Congrats!

Collapse
 
mattvb91 profile image
Matthias von Bargen

Nice!

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

πŸŽ‰ wooo! That has to be an awesome feeling to sell something that you created like that!

Collapse
 
notfocaccia profile image
Alicia Fasciocco

Congrats!

Collapse
 
joeattardi profile image
Joe Attardi

Thank you!

Collapse
 
iridakos profile image
Lazarus Lazaridis • Edited

Found time:

  • to add more features to my toy project stup, a shell tool for daily notes
  • to post about it at dev.to
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Not me per se but shout out to @molly_struve , @atsmith813 and all the contributors who helped us migrate off a proprietary search platform to an open source one. We finally finished the project this week. πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
andyhaskell profile image
Andy Haskell

Released my post on what I do about perfectionism as a content creator, which was my biggest obstacle blogging (it used to take me sometimes a month to finish a post)!

dev.to/andyhaskell/perfectionism-a...

Collapse
 
bugmagnet profile image
Bruce Axtens

Somebody once told me, "Perfection can be the enemy of the good." They told me that in light of the fact that I had virtually nothing to show for all my high school art classes simply because I smashed up anything that wasn't perfect.

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font • Edited

I'm reading a book right now called the gift of imperfection --- there is an entire chapter on how perfectionism is not a good thing in ANY way. You are lucky someone shared that insight with you and that you heard it. :)

Collapse
 
defgrav04 profile image
Mina Oh

Omg, this is awesome. I actually have a similar post about how perfectionism harms your relationships and mental health (based on my experience). My other blog is down right now, though, so I cannot share it πŸ™

Collapse
 
gabrielecimato profile image
Gabriele Cimato

Amen!

Collapse
 
healeycodes profile image
Andrew Healey

I had 200 concurrent visitors on my blog!

And got lots of lovely comments from all over the internet from inspired learners πŸ₯°

Collapse
 
jamesshah profile image
James Shah

This week I published my own blog😍😍
Check out : bytetales.co

Comments & Feedbacks are welcome!!

Collapse
 
mattvb91 profile image
Matthias von Bargen

Looks good! Nice and clean

Collapse
 
jamesshah profile image
James Shah

Thankkk youuπŸ€—πŸ€—

Collapse
 
maxpou profile image
Maxence Poutord

very nice James!
btw, it's interesting we are using the exact same color fot the background! (see maxpou.fr)

Collapse
 
jamesshah profile image
James Shah

That's strangely nicee coincidence πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

Collapse
 
lisasy profile image
Lisa Sy (she/her)

I was feeling myself burn out and get stressed out because of pandemic-related loneliness and stress, and I gave myself permission to not do anything. This goes against my typical coping mechanisms which is to do more and to always feel like I should be doing "something" with my time. There's a phenomenon that describes this called "allostatic load":

vice.com/en_us/article/n7jap8/allo...

Collapse
 
captemulation profile image
John Dean • Edited

Lost my job first week of April. Big win this week was to get and sign an offer on a new position starting Monday.

Collapse
 
notfocaccia profile image
Alicia Fasciocco

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Congratulations πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
notfocaccia profile image
Alicia Fasciocco

Hope everyone had a good week! This week, I added search functionality to my final React Redux / Rails project for Flatiron School. My assessment is Monday and this add will hopefully make it even more likely that I will pass. :)

Collapse
 
jordanlewis profile image
Jordan Lewis

Posted to dev.to for the first time since last year! This video is about column families in CockroachDB. It's an interesting database concept that I think deserves more love and appreciation.

dev.to/jordanlewis/exploring-colum...

Collapse
 
matteobruni profile image
Matteo Bruni

This week I played a bit with noise generation to create something like this for my particles library

I implemented a quad tree instead of the spatial hashing but I still don't know which algorithm has the best performance.

I fixed an annoying bug with canvas and retina/HiDPI screen, it wasn’t though but any bug fixed is a good thing!

I created other cool feature for particles, nothing difficult but it’s my first time doing these animations

Collapse
 
laojala profile image
Laura Ojala

I made a submission to talk to my first big tech conference! What was the best in it: I got support and mentoring from others about selecting and framing the topic. Talk is about how we automate testing and utilize data in making decisions related to the embedded device acceptance testing at my new work. It is always interesting to hear how testing is organized, so I hope my talk makes it to the conference πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi πŸ₯‘

I finished and delivered my application for the Twilio + Dev Hackathon!
I lost hope times than I can tell you, but I did it !!!

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Well done🀸

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi πŸ₯‘

Thank you!!!

Collapse
 
maxpou profile image
Maxence Poutord
  • finished 2 blog posts! (wrote a total of 4 this year πŸ™ˆ)
  • found time to work on my personal website and fix some little bugs
  • found a new person to mentor
  • spend time with people I love.

I think I had a good week 😊