DEV Community

Jorge Galvez
Jorge Galvez

Posted on

Starting the #100DaysofCoding Challenge as a Newbie

Hi everyone!

My name is Jorge, I'm 27 and I've been lurking this community for a few months now. I'm a business administrator and financial analyst that just discovered a newfound passion for coding.

Before the pandemic even began, I was already dabbling in a few coding sites and had watched a few YouTube tutorials but started to get overwhelmed with the amount of information available.

As time passed, I became even more overwhelmed and then started making excuses such as I didn't have enough time because coding is something complex that requires several hours a day and I just didn't have enough time during the day to fit into my schedule.

At the beginning of the pandemic, I set myself a goal of learning how to code. Since everything went remote, I had a lot of time on my hands and figured that I would be less stressed and able to set a few hours a day to learn how to code.

I've always put off learning how to code because I've struggled with thinking that coding is hard and that I might not have the capabilities of learning something as complex at 27.

As days went by, I started thinking that coding was simply too hard and I just did not have the capabilities to learn something so complex.

This fear fueled my procrastination and before I knew it, 2020 was coming to an end and I was not even close to meeting that goal.

I took some time off, had an honest conversation with myself and began asking questions such as, "is this something I really want to do?", "am I even sure that I'll like it?".

As you can imagine, these are tough questions to answer. Especially when you don't even have enough experience to even get a whiff of what the answers would be. But I figured I'd try it out and even if it doesn't work out, at least I tried.

So, here if you've followed the post up until now, I've decided that I'm going to join the #100daysofcoding challenge. I'm going to focus on Python and R and their use in Data Science. This is a field I've recently became interested in and have a strong feeling it will become a very big area in the coming years.

The courses I will be working with are: 'The Complete Python Course' taught by Rob Percival of Codestars and Jose Salvatierra from Teclado and 'Machine Learning A-Z: Hands on Python and R in Data Science' by Kirill Eremenko and Hadelin de Ponteves.

I am posting this here to make myself accountable in front of a community which is very welcoming and supportive.

I am also looking forward to any suggestions for tutorials, videos or just overall good habits to exercise while learning to code or even just people to talk to and exchange ideas and feedback.

Thank you so much for reading this post and I hope everyone has a great day!

Regards,

Jorge

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
xavin616 profile image
Xavin616

Happy hacking Jorge.
Hope you enjoy the gift that is Python.

Collapse
 
jgalvez5 profile image
Jorge Galvez

Thank you! Looking forward to learning as much as I can and putting it into practice!