DEV Community

Cover image for Supporting Your Team Through an Organizational Change
Jiovanni Rosario
Jiovanni Rosario

Posted on

Supporting Your Team Through an Organizational Change

For new engineering managers, supporting your team through an organizational change can be overwhelming.

I recently faced such a challenge when my department underwent an org change that resulted in new responsibilities for my team and myself.

My team expressed how frustrated and undervalued they felt by this change. Some felt like it was a demotion, and others felt blindsided.

Initially, I put a lot of pressure on myself to have all the answers, but then I realized the best thing I could do for them was to demonstrate empathy. So, I listened to their perspectives, got advice from other managers, and took action based on their feedback.

In this article, I want to share five key lessons that I learned to help you lead your team during an org change.

Leveraging the Power of Your Words

Words carry significant weight and can shape your organization's culture and direction, particularly when spoken by a leader. That’s why during an org change, it’s crucial to take a step back, assess your emotions, and thoughtfully consider how to communicate with your team.

Initially, after our organizational change, I also felt undervalued and frustrated.
Why hadn’t I been contacted for input on this significant decision?

However, with my mentor's support, I realized that I simply needed time to process this change. Likewise, the best thing I could do for my team was to allow them time to process this change as well.

How do you feel about this change? Do you see any benefits? Can you get behind this change?

These were some of the questions I posed to my team, which both helped me empathize with their difficulties and support them through this new chapter.

Moreover, I learned that responding with authenticity was essential.

A leader should share their own thoughts and emotions with their team. There’s no need to be overly polished or insensitive. Reassure them that you’re committed to figuring things out together, even when things are tough.

By doing so, you’ll build trust, foster a positive environment, and drive your organization toward a successful future.

Putting Your Team First

As a leader, it’s crucial to prioritize the needs and well-being of your team members. This means being transparent and proactive in communicating updates and changes during organizational change.

This was a lesson I learned through trial and error.

Even though my team appreciated the support I was giving them throughout our organizational change, I had held back information from them at the request of senior management until the change was official. Unfortunately, this made my team feel blindsided and caught off guard when the change finally occurred.

Withholding information had ultimately not been beneficial, and that’s because it wasn’t beneficial for the entire team.

If there’s a change on the horizon, it’s important for managers to provide advance notice, as long as it’s within their power to do so.

Being transparent benefits your team and makes your role as a leader easier, as you can connect with your team members authentically. In turn, it strengthens your team's trust and appreciation for you.

Empowering Your Team Through Active Listening and Follow-Through

Creating a culture of openness and communication — especially during organizational change — is essential for effective leadership. After announcing our organizational change, I scheduled 1:1 meetings with each team member to understand their concerns and perspectives.

How do you feel about the change? What are you most concerned about? What could we, as managers, have done better?

Through active listening and focused attention, I was able to gather valuable feedback and insights that helped me better support my team.

This ‘listening tour’ is critical in demonstrating your care for your team and gaining a deeper understanding of the situation.

After these meetings, it’s crucial to follow up with your senior leaders, implement suggested changes where possible, and provide updates to your team.

Effective communication and follow-through are key to building trust and empowering your team during times of change.

Unleashing Your Potential as a Supportive and Dynamic Leader

My leadership style is collaborative, so I prefer to work closely with my team to drive change and growth. However, there may be instances where changes are imposed by senior leadership, as was the case for me.

In these situations, it’s crucial to be a source of empathy and support for your team while also taking on the role of a coach and manager.

The key is to understand when to switch between these two roles.
Your team needs a coach to acknowledge their fears and provide encouragement during uncertain times. However, they also need a manager to provide direction and clarity.

_What are the new expectations in this org change? How will priorities be managed? How will this impact promotions? What tools are available for training?
_

Be aware that these technical questions often come immediately after your team members need to vent.

However, by embracing the roles of coach and manager and seamlessly combining them in your conversations with your team, you’ll demonstrate your commitment to their success and drive your organization toward a brighter future.

Change may not align with every team member

Lastly, while organizational change may be the right decision for the team, it may not be the right decision for every individual.

It’s important not to be too hard on yourself if a team member decides to leave your team.

Remember, it’s not a personal affront if a team member decides their new roles or responsibilities won’t work for them going forward.

You can still support them by helping them find opportunities that align with their interests and goals, whether within or outside the organization.

Support Your Team Checklist

When faced with an organizational change, remember the following five key lessons to empower your team and drive success:

  • Reflect on your own emotions and thoughts.
  • Make the well-being of your team a priority.
  • Prepare a clear and supportive message for your team.
  • Prioritize your team’s needs by actively listening and providing support.
  • Don’t let any departures discourage you, and continue to empower your team to thrive.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
afyvs1 profile image
Vivina Sardo

Thanks for sharing your experience Jiovanni, it mustn't have been easy to deal with everybody's reaction to the org changes I imagine. What you said about collaboration made me think of this tool adadot.com/ that I think you might like, as it has a part that encourages healthy communication among team members. Best of luck with your devs!