DEV Community

Cover image for The Hardest Problem in Computer Science: How do You Wait While Compiling?
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Posted on • Updated on

The Hardest Problem in Computer Science: How do You Wait While Compiling?

Your code is slow to compile, or your test suite to run, or the CI to become green.

The hardest question in computer science:

How do you wait in front of a computer screen in the meantime?

obligatory xkcd

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
christiankozalla profile image
Christian Kozalla

I've noticed that quite a few of my tasks are inherently async, like merging a PR and waiting on the CI until I can review on staging.. Initiating such an async task usually takes only little time.

So my default action during wait, is to initiate another async task πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
phlash profile image
Phil Ashby

If the cycle time is large enough to walk away from the screen, I'll do that to give my eyeballs a change of scenery. I have been known to spend the time looking at why the cycle time is too slow πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
jackmellis profile image
Jack • Edited

Reflection. Whenever I finish a feature I spend at least 30 minutes going over what I did, thinking about what I struggled with, how I could do it better. Sometimes this leads to a refactor of the code, sometimes it gives me ideas on our best practices, occasionally it leads to discovering a bug.

Collapse
 
raguay profile image
Richard Guay

Read Dev!

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Are you browsing DEV or reading from your reading list?

I think I should do the latter but do the former :P

Collapse
 
raguay profile image
Richard Guay

I do both. But, my reading list is more articles that I go bad and reference more.

Collapse
 
desvocate profile image
desvocate

Take over the world! insert Pinky and the Brain theme tune

Collapse
 
pontakornth profile image
Pontakorn Paesaeng

Browsing wiki to prepare for the next boss fight in Terraria or listen to musics.

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Well, if I have more tasks or work to do I will do that, if I don't I will come to DEV and read a couple articles! If I don't feel like reading I might go take a rest

Collapse
 
hoydpria profile image
oydpria

browsing a wiki while listening to music or getting ready for the next boss battle in flagle