DEV Community

Cover image for Beautiful Websites Designed with Free or Open Source Fonts
Joe Kariuki
Joe Kariuki

Posted on

Beautiful Websites Designed with Free or Open Source Fonts

Hi everyone,

I started working on my first open source project: Open Fonts. It's a curated collection of websites that were designed with free or open source fonts.

I started this project because I wanted to create a way to find inspiration for using free fonts. Each font listed is linked to a place where you can download it from, alongside with a list of websites that use the font.

Feel free to contribute. Would love feedback/suggestions.

I hope this resource inspires the design of your next project.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
daledoster profile image
daledoster

You should get a dedicated website going for this! The use cases for this project go even beyond websites and can applied to anything from graphic to product design. Also being able to see each font used in the context of a real website is very helpful! :o

Collapse
 
joekariuki profile image
Joe Kariuki

Thanks Dale! I plan on creating a website for the project. Also, adding different types beyond websites is great idea!

Collapse
 
daledoster profile image
daledoster

A project I'm currently working on got me thinking it would be nice to have this sort of idea but for color pallets. A lot of modern websites such as Spotify have a very strong use color implemented into their design. Just a thought for something to add to this project or as another potential open source side project :D

Collapse
 
ruslangonzalez profile image
Ruslan Gonzalez

It is nice! I think GitHub is fine for hosting it, but will be amazing if you could add an image per font for showing the result. I'd love to contribute.

Collapse
 
joekariuki profile image
Joe Kariuki

Thanks Ruslán! Do you mean an image of the font or of each website?

Collapse
 
ruslangonzalez profile image
Ruslan Gonzalez

Yes. What do u think?

Thread Thread
 
joekariuki profile image
Joe Kariuki

It’s a good idea! I could try add images of the font to each font for the meantime while I work on creating the website